WACO, TX — A new law in Texas that legalizes the growth and use of hemp-derived products is causing a lot of confusion throughout the state. On June 10, Governor Abbott signed H-B 1325 into law. allowing hemp to be grown as a crop and sold across the state.
Owner of "Your C-B-D Store" in Hewitt explained exactly what the law means and why it allowed her to open a new CBD store.
"He signed and basically legalized the farming, production, sale of CBD containing up to .3 percent THC, coming from the hemp plant, not the marijuana plant," said Kimberly Tarantino.
However, this new law allowing CBD with .3 percent of THC still poses a question, particularly with law enforcement, because anyone who takes THC can test positive regardless if it is derived from the hemp or marijuana plant.
When we reached out to the District Attorney from McLennan County, they provided a statement saying that county authorities have changed their procedures and are working on finding a way to test where the THC is coming from accurately.
Overall, CBD products with or without .3 percent THC are legal in the state of Texas. Now officials are working on finding the best way to determine where the THC is derived from when someone tests positive for the THC.