UMHB has two named ASC distinguished scholar-athletes

Posted: 2:31 PM, Jun 08, 2018
Updated: 2018-06-08 19:31:01Z
UMHB has two named ASC distinguished scholar-athletes

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor placed eight student-athletes on the American Southwest Conference Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams released today. UMHB also won a pair of Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Awards with Olivia Robinson sharing the women’s golf honor and Kendall Rollins being voted women’s basketball Distinguished Scholar-Athlete. The Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholar-Athlete teams recognize student-athletes in the following sports: baseball, softball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field and women’s track and field.

Robinson, a sophomore from Deer Park High School, is a mass communication major and carries a 3.79 GPA. She earned ASC All-Conference honors in helping lead the Cru to the conference championship and an NCAA Division III National Championships appearance. Robinson posted an 81.31 stroke average despite missing time this spring after undergoing knee surgery over the Christmas break. Robinson is an ASC All-Academic selection and a WGCA All-American Scholar.

Rollins, a sophomore guard from Tompkins High School, is a management major with a 3.69 GPA. She was an All-Region selection and ASC West Division Player of the Year after averaging 15.6 points and 6.9 rebounds per game this season. Rollins was ASC All-West Division First Team and ASC All-Academic after leading the UMHB women to a school Division III era record for victories in a season and the ASC Championship Game this season.

Aubrie King (Sr., Milano) represented the Cru men’s basketball program on the ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Team while Rollins was the women’s basketball representative. Kyle Revis (Sr., Temple) and Robinson represented the UMHB men’s and women’s golf teams, respectively. Cole Weiss (So., Frisco) and Shannon Kelly (Jr., Keller) were honored on the men’s and women’s tennis teams. Casey Frazier (Sr., Salado) was honored from the UMHB baseball team and Makenzi Dawson (Jr., Robinson) was selected to the softball honor squad.

The honor recognizes student-athletes that achieve a higher level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the conference’s 13 member institutions vote on a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete from each sport.