Baylor’s Motley Named All-America by Three Outlets

Posted: 6:44 PM, Mar 06, 2017
Updated: 2017-03-07 00:44:54Z
Baylor’s Motley Named All-America by Three Outlets

Baylor basketball forward Johnathan Motley became the 16th All-American in program history after earning recognition from three outlets on Monday.

Sporting News and NBC Sports both named Motley to their All-America second teams, and Motley was an All-America third team honoree by USA Today. He’s the fourth player in program history to earn All-America recognition from the Sporting News, joining Micheal Williams (1987 honorable mention), Darryl Middleton (1988 honorable mention) and Tweety Carter (2010 fourth team).

Motley was announced as a unanimous first-team All-Big 12 selection by the Big 12 coaches and Associated Press on Sunday and Monday, respectively. He became Baylor’s first unanimous first-team honoree in the league’s 21-year history.

Motley is also one of 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy, one of 15 players on the Wooden Award National Ballot, one of 19 players on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List and one of 10 finalists for the Karl Malone Award.

Motley, a fourth-year junior from Houston, leads the Big 12 with 13 double-doubles and 10.0 rebounds per game, ranks third with 17.5 points per game, fifth with a .517 field goal percentage, 12th with a .729 free throw percentage and 12th with 1.1 blocks per game. He also has 71 assists in 30 games this season, more than the 53 assists he posted in 68 games over his first two seasons combined.  

The 6-foot-10 forward’s numbers have improved in Big 12 play, where he leads the league with 10 double-doubles and 10.8 rebounds per game, and he ranks second in scoring with 18.4 points per game.

In his last 14 games, Motley is averaging 20.6 points, 11.0 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.0 blocks in 32.9 minutes per contest. He eclipsed the 20-point mark seven times in that stretch and has 10 games of 20+ points this season.

Motley currently ranks 21st on Baylor’s all-time scoring list with 1,164 career points and seventh in program history with 117 career blocks. He also has 124 assists and 616 rebounds, making him the first player in program history with 1,000 points, 600 rebounds, 100 assists and 100 blocks.

No. 9 Baylor finished the regular season 25-6 overall and 12-6 in Big 12 play. The Bears’ 25 wins tied the 2012 season for most in a regular season in program history, and the 12 Big 12 wins tied the same season for most wins in conference play. Baylor also finished tied for second in the Big 12 standings, equaling the 2010 season for best finish in the league’s 21-year history.

Baylor earned the No. 3 seed in the 2017 Big 12 Championship and will face No. 6 seed Kansas State in the quarterfinals. That game will tip off at 8 p.m. CT Thursday and air on ESPNU. 

1938 – Hubert Kirkpatrck (Helms Foundation first team; Newspaper Enterprise second team)

1939 – Earl “Pete” Creasey (Newspaper Enterprise third team)

1946 – Jack Robinson (Helms Foundation second team)

1948 – Jack Robinson (Helms Foundation second team)

1971 – William Chatmon (Helms Foundation)

1978 – Vinnie Johnson (Helms Foundation)

1979 – Vinnie Johnson (AP and Converse Yearbook second team; Helms Foundation)

1980 – Terry Teagle (Helms Foundation)

1981 – Terry Teagle (Helms Foundation)

1982 – Terry Teagle (AP second team; Helms Foundation)

1987 – Michael Williams (Sporting News honorable mention)

1988 – Darryl Middleton (AP, Sporting News, Basketball Times and UPI honorable mention)

1988 – Micheal Williams (AP and UPI honorable mention)

2008 – Curtis Jerrells (Yahoo! fourth team)

2010 – Ekpe Udoh (AP honorable mention; Yahoo! third team; Basketball Times fourth team)

2010 – Tweety Carter (Sporting News honorable mention)

2010 – LaceDarius Dunn (Yahoo! honorable mention)

2012 – Pierre Jackson (AP honorable mention)

2012 – Perry Jones III (AP honorable mention)

2015 – Rico Gathers (AP honorable mention; NBC Sports second team)

2017 – Johnathan Motley (Sporting News and NBC Sports second team; USA Today third team)