HometownMcLennan County


Historic Landmark Commission announces 2019 Preservation Excellence Award recipients

Posted at 2:26 PM, Nov 05, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-05 15:28:19-05

WACO, TX — The Waco Historic Landmark Preservation Commission announced the 2019 recipients of its Preservation Excellence Awards on Tuesday.

The recipients will be honored at the annual Historic Preservation Excellence Awards ceremony, which will be held Thursday, November 14 at 5:30 p.m.

This year's honorees include:

Helen Marie Taylor for Contributions by an Individual to Preservation for the Taylor Museum of Waco History.

Eric Ames for Excellence in Education.

J.B. Smith for Contributions by an Individual to Preservation.

Law Office for Erin Shank, owned by John & Erin Shank, 1902 Austin Avenue, for Sustained Excellence of an Adaptive Reuse of a Residence.

The Banks Residence, owned by Dwayne & Marilyn Banks, 601 Dallas Street, for Sustained Excellence of a Residential Structure.

West Campus Lofts, 805 S. 8th Street, for Excellence of an Adaptive Reuse of an Institutional Structure.

Health Camp, 2601 Circle Road, for Sustained Excellence of a Commercial Structure.

The ceremony will be held at Grant Hall, which is located on the Rapoport Academy Campus at 1020 Elm Avenue in Waco.

The Historic Landmark Preservation Commission was established in 1999 to adopt and disseminate criteria for the designation of historical, cultural, architectural, archaeological, paleontological and natural landmarks and the delineation of historic districts; provides recommendations on landmarks and historic districts; and increase public awareness of the value of historic preservation.

The Commission consists of 12 members and 1 youth member who are appointed by the City Council.