HometownMcLennan County


Five finalists named for Waco Fire chief position

Waco Fire Department
Posted at 3:55 PM, Feb 07, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-07 16:56:33-05

WACO, TX — Five finalists have been named for the Waco Fire chief position.

The City of Waco says out of 46 well-qualified candidates, the application pool has been narrowed down to five individuals.

The finalists are:

  • Juan J. Adame – 25 Year Veteran of Fire Services – Sugarland, TX. Fire Chief 2009-2019; Austin, TX. Fire Chief 2006-2008; Corpus Christi Fire Chief 1988-2006
  • Thomas R. Beasley – 27 Year Veteran of Fire Services – Division Chief of Training, Memphis, TN. 2016-Present
  • Jonathan McMahan – 15 Year Veteran of Fire Services – College Station, TX. Fire Chief 2017-2020
  • Richard A. Potter – 29 Year Veteran of Fire Services – Deputy Chief Pueblo Fire 2019-Present, Acting Fire Chief Pueblo, CO. 2016-2019
  • Gregory L. Summers – 34 Year Veteran of Fire Services – Fire Chief Little Rock Arkansas 2009-2018

Following initial interviews, the City expects to have one or more finalists to select from to become the next chief.

Former Waco Fire Chief Bobby Tatum announced his retirement in October 2019 and retired on December 31, 2019. He started the position in 2016 after 31 years as a Fort Worth firefighter.