Langeliers, Bradford highlight Big 12 Preseason Selections

Langeliers, Bradford highlight Big 12 Preseason Selections
Posted at 9:44 PM, Jan 30, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-30 22:44:11-05

A trio from Texas Tech and a pitcher from Baylor headlined the 2019 preseason All-Big 12 Baseball awards.

Red Raider Josh Jung was selected as the Preseason Player of the Year, while Baylor lefty Cody Bradford earned the nod for Preseason Pitcher of the Year. TTU’s Bryce Bonnin and Max Marusak were named Preseason Newcomer of the Year and Preseason Freshman of the Year, respectively. The honorees were selected in a vote of the league’s head coaches. Coaches could not vote for their own players.

Eighteen individuals were selected to the preseason ledger and all nine league teams were represented on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team. Nine of the 18 preseason selections were All-Big 12 First Team performers a year ago. Texas Tech led the way with five selections, followed by Baylor’s four. Oklahoma and Texas each had two honorees apiece, while the remaining institutions had one representative.

Baylor’s Shea Langeliers and Texas Tech’s Josh Jung were unanimous selections. Additionally, Jung was a unanimous pick for Preseason Player of the Year.

Jung, a preseason All-Big 12 First Team pick in 2018, led the Big 12 in batting average last season with a .392 on 103-for-263, which ranked 12th in the NCAA and paced the league in hits (103) for a No. 3 ranking in the nation.

BU’s Bradford led the league with a 2.51 ERA through 96.2 innings pitched in 14 games. The 2018 Big 12 Pitcher of the Year and Co-Most Outstanding Player of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship became the first pitcher in program history to throw back-to-back complete game shutouts vs. TCU (4/20) and at Kansas State (4/27).

Bonnin, a transfer from Arkansas, produced a 1-0 record in 11 appearances, while registering a 4.26 ERA and 16 strikeouts in 19 innings pitched.

Marusak comes to Tech as the No. 1 ranked outfielder in the state of Texas and the No. 88 overall prospect. He led Amarillo High with a .439 batting average, 61 runs, five homers and 54 stolen bases en route to multiple honors including a first team 5-A All-State selection.

The Big 12 preseason poll will be announced on Thursday, January 31. All nine league teams open the season on Friday, February 15.


Player of the Year:            Josh Jung, Texas Tech, Jr., INF, San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur*

Pitcher of the Year:           Cody Bradford, Baylor, Jr., LHP, Aledo, Texas/Aledo

Newcomer of the Year:      Bryce Bonnin, Texas Tech, RHP/INF, Mont Belvieu, Texas/Arkansas

Freshman of the Year:       Max Marusak, Texas Tech, OF, Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo


Name, School                            Pos.    Cl.      Hometown/Previous School                           

Shea Langeliers, Baylor*              C        Jr.      Keller, Texas/Keller

Nick Loftin, Baylor                       INF     So.     Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray

Davis Wendzel, Baylor                  INF     Jr.      San Clemente, Calif./Jserra Catholic

Brylie Ware, Oklahoma                 INF     Sr.      Sedgwick, Kan./Neosho County Community College

Josh Jung, Texas Tech*                INF     Jr.      San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur

Cameron Warren, Texas Tech        INF     Sr.      Midwest City, Okla./Carl Albert     

Duke Ellis, Texas                         OF      Jr.      Nacogdoches, Texas/Panola College

Gabe Holt, Texas Tech                 OF      So.     Bonaire, Ga./Veterans

Darius Hill, West Virginia              OF      Sr.      Dallas, Texas/Dallas Jesuit

Colin Simpson, Oklahoma State     DH     Sr.      Edmond, Okla./Memorial

Zach Zubia, Texas                       DH     So.     Richmond, Texas/Strake Jesuit

Will Brennan, K-State                   UTL    Jr.      Stilwell, Kan./Blue Valley

Cody Bradford, Baylor                 LHP    Jr.      Aledo, Texas/Aledo

Ryan Zeferjahn, Kansas                RHP   Jr.      Topeka, Kan./Seaman

Nick Lodolo, TCU                        LHP    Jr.      LaVerne, Calif./Damien

Caleb Kilian, Texas Tech               RHP   Jr.      Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound       

Levi Prater, Oklahoma                  LHP    So.     Ada, Okla./Byng

Caleb Freeman, Texas Tech          RHP   Jr.      Abilene, Texas/Cooper