Baylor men's tennis signs Brooksby to Letter of Intent

Baylor men's tennis signs Brooksby to Letter of Intent
Posted at 8:15 PM, Dec 12, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-12 21:15:06-05

Baylor Director of Tennis and Head Men’s Tennis Coach Brian Boland announced the signing of Jenson Brooksby to a National Letter of Intent Wednesday.

The top-ranked recruit according to, Brooksby will begin his freshman season next fall.

"Words cannot describe what it means to have Jenson Brooksby joining the Baylor Bears next season," Boland said. "Signing the No. 1 American recruit in the country is a reflection of where this program is headed and I couldn’t be happier to be part of this athletic department and university.”

A Sacramento, Calif. native, Brooksby achieved a career-high ATP ranking of 978 in singles and a personal-best combined junior ranking of 54 while holding a career-best UTR of 14.40.

Brooksby, the 2018 USTA National 18's junior champion in Kalamazoo, Mich., earned a wildcard to the U.S. Open main draw and advanced to the singles semifinals at the U.S. Open Junior Tennis Championships this past fall.

The No.1-ranked recruit also won the Easter Bowl Championships in Indian Wells, Calif. last spring.

"Jenson is one of the strongest competitors I have seen and has a love for the game that is second to none,” Boland said. “The combination of his innate skill set and incredible work ethic have helped him separate himself from his competition at every age group. He has even had great success on the professional tour over the past two years. He is poised to come in and make an immediate impact on Baylor tennis both on and off the court, and we cannot wait to have him at Baylor University.”

Brooksby will enter a BU program that has won 13 Big 12 Conference regular season titles and eight tournament crowns over the 21-year history of the league. Baylor has become one of the nation's most successful collegiate men's tennis teams over the past 16 seasons, reaching the NCAA Championship semifinals five times, winning the national championship in 2004, and reaching at least the round of 16 in 14 of those 16 years.