Schretter and Lah Set for Oracle ITA Masters

Schretter and Lah Set for Oracle ITA Masters
Posted at 3:31 PM, Sep 19, 2018
and last updated 2018-09-19 16:31:45-04

Baylor men’s tennis senior Johannes Schretter and sophomore Sven Lah will compete in the singles main draw of the 2018 Oracle ITA Masters, starting Thursday at the Malibu Racquet Club and Pepperdine University campus in Malibu, Calif.

33rd-ranked Schretter earned a wildcard into the event and will face Pepperdine’s Adrian Oetzbach in the opening round Thursday afternoon. 85th-ranked Sven Lah earned an at-large bid to the event and will open his run against Mercer’s Olivier Stuart Thursday afternoon.

Schretter or Lah could play up to five matches should they advance to the championship final on Sunday.

There will also be a consolation singles bracket and a mixed doubles draw in Malibu. Lah will work alongside Michaela Bayerlova of Washington State as the tournament’s No. 6 seed while Schretter will compete with North Carolina’s Makenna Jones as the No. 7 seed for the event. Both mixed doubles matches will begin at 8 a.m. PT Thursday morning.

In 2017, Schretter went a combined 7-2 in the event to finish as a singles semifinalist and mixed doubles finalist in Malibu.

Created in 2015, the Oracle ITA Masters has established itself as one of the premier events of the collegiate tennis season. The Oracle ITA Masters features singles draws of 32 for men and women, and a mixed doubles event with a 32-draw. Players are chosen based upon conference representation, similar to the NCAA Tournament.

The men’s and women’s singles champions earn automatic entry into the 2018 Oracle ITA National Fall Championships, which will be held November 2-5, in Surprise, Ariz.

Follow the results all weekend long on the official Twitter account of the team: @BaylorMTennis.

Singles Draw –
Johannes Schretter vs. Adrian Oetzbach (Pepperdine) – 1:30 p.m. PT
Sven Lah vs. Olivier Stuart (Mercer) – 3 p.m. PT

Mixed Doubles Draw --
No. 6 Lah/Bayerlova (Washington St.) vs. Hendrick Inno (Belmont)/Lidia Yanes Garcia (Austin Peay)  – 8 a.m. PT
No. 7 Schretter/Jones vs. Jordan Benjamin (Dayton)/Maria Siopacha (George Washington) – 8 a.m. PT