Aggie golf touts All-American

Aggie golf touts All-American
Posted at 2:58 PM, May 29, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-29 15:58:01-04

Texas A&M junior Chandler Phillips was honored Tuesday alongside the nation’s elite golfers as he was named a PING First Team All-American by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Joining Phillips on the list of First Team All-Americans were Shintaro Ban (UNLV), Broc Everett (Augusta), Doug Ghim (Texas), Nick Hardy (Illinois), Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State), Theo Humphrey (Vanderbilt), Collin Morikawa (California), Justin Suh (Southern California), Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State) and Norman Xiong (Oregon).

Phillips, who received third-team All-America honors a year ago, becomes just the fourth Aggie to be named to as a first team All-American. Additionally, his accolade becomes the 17th time a Texas A&M golfer has garnered All-America status under head coach J.T. Higgins.

The Huntsville, Texas, native has won four events individually this year while helping the Aggies post a school-record six team wins. An All-SEC selection, Phillips maintained a 70.33 scoring average to break Texas A&M’s school record for stroke average in a season, a mark he set last spring. As a junior, he has posted 27 rounds of par or better in his 40 rounds of competition.

Phillips got the season off to a hot start by winning the season-opening Badger Invitational (-12) and began the spring semester by becoming the first two-time winner of the John Burns Intercollegiate (-13). Phillips shared medalist honors at Aggie Invitational (-5) before breaking Texas A&M’s record for career tournament wins with a one-stroke victory, the sixth of this career, at the NCAA Bryan Regional (-11).

In addition to his four wins, he posted four other top 10s and only placed outside the top 20 once in 12 events during his junior campaign.

Phillips who has stood out as one of top performers in the NCAA this season has also been named one of five finalist for 2018 Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol.



Shintaro Ban, UNLV

Broc Everett, Augusta

Doug Ghim, Texas

Nick Hardy, Illinois

Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt

Collin Morikawa, California

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M

Justin Suh, Southern California

Norman Xiong, Oregon

Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State