Baylor baseball leads Big 12 in All-Academics

Baylor baseball leads Big 12 in All-Academics
Posted at 9:29 PM, May 15, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-15 22:29:57-04

Baylor baseball led the conference with 17 Academic All-Big 12 choices, including a league-best 13 first team honorees, the league announced Tuesday. The Bears set a new program record for total choices for a second straight year (15 in 2017) as they’ve now had 10 or more honorees in seven straight seasons.

BU has had at least nine honorees in 10 straight seasons. In the league’s 22-year history, Baylor has earned 156 first team selections, which are 51 more than any other team in the league. Individually, Cody Bradford was one of three in the conference with a 4.00 GPA and Richard Cunningham and Levi Gilcrease were two of four to earn first team distinction for a third time.

The Bears’ first team selections were Bradford, Cunningham, Gilcrease, Joe Heineman, Kyle Hill, Tucker Johnson, Ryan Leckich, Alex Phillips, T.J. Raguse, Andy Thomas, Cole Weaver, Davis Wendzel and Jimmy Winston.

Heineman, Hill, Phillips and Raguse garnered the honors for the second straight season, while Johnson, Leckich, Thomas, Weaver, Wendzel and Winston were first-timers.

Baylor’s second team choices were Luke Boyd, Tucker Cascadden, Troy Montemayor and Drew Robertson.

Cascadden and Montemayor earned the accolades for the second season in a row, while Boyd and Robertson picked up the awards for the first time.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Baylor Academic All-Big 12 First Team

Cody Bradford | So. | Supply Chain Management | Aledo, Texas

Richard Cunningham | Jr. | Business | Austin, Texas

Levi Gilcrease | Sr. | History/Political Science | Odessa, Fla.

Joe Heineman | Sr. | Risk Management Insurance | Southlake, Texas

Kyle Hill | Jr. | Finance | Corpus Christi, Texas

Tucker Johnson | Sr. | Finance | China Springs, Texas

Ryan Leckich | So. | Finance | Port Neches, Texas

Alex Phillips | Sr. | Sports Management | Nacagdoches, Texas

T.J. Raguse | Jr. | Finance | Georgetown, Texas

Andy Thomas | So. | Finance | Murrieta, Calif.

Cole Weaver | Jr. | Health, Kinesiology & Leisure Studies | Carlsbad, Calif.

Davis Wendzel | So. | Management | San Clemente, Calif.

Jimmy Winston | So. | Finance | Houston, Texas

Baylor Academic All-Big 12 Second Team

Luke Boyd | So. | Business | Ventura, Calif.

Tucker Cascadden | Sr. | Film, Digital Media | Houston, Texas

Troy Montemayor | Sr. | Sports, Sponsorship & Sales | San Antonio, Texas

Drew Robertson | Sr. | Communication | Tyler, Texas