"Wrecking Crew” legend Coryatt named to Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame

Posted at 8:54 PM, May 08, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-08 21:54:26-04

Texas A&M “Wrecking Crew” legend Quentin Coryatt was one of six individuals inducted into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame during enshrinement ceremonies at AT&T Stadium on Tuesday.

Coryatt, who helped lead the 1991 Aggies to the Southwest Conference Championship, was honored for his standout play in the 1992 Cotton Bowl – a hard-fought 10-2 loss to Florida State. The 1991 SWC Defensive Player of the Year made 15 tackles, including 10 solo stops, with three tackles behind the line of scrimmage. His signature play in the game was a sack of FSU quarterback Casey Weldon in the endzone that resulted in the Aggies’ only points.

In addition to Coryatt, the honorees in the 11th Hall of Fame Class included Arkansas/Ole Miss head coach Houston Nutt, USC head coach John Robinson, Penn State halfback/linebacker Wallace Triplett, Texas running back Ricky Williams, and Oklahoma strong safety Roy Williams. Mr. Triplett was represented by his daughter, Alison Triplett, and granddaughter Ayanna McConnell.

Each member of the Hall of Fame Class received a personalized bronze statue in the likeness of a 1930s football player, the era in which the Classic was founded.

“This wonderful spring time event showcases the rich tradition of college football in North Texas and provides future generations with a greater appreciation of our game’s history,” said Carl Ice, Chairman of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association. “Honoring those who have played such a vital role in the success of the Goodyear Cotton Bowl is important to all of us. It gives me great pleasure to welcome The Class of 2018 into this prestigious fraternity.”