Seven Lady Bears earn All-Academic Big 12

Seven Lady Bears earn All-Academic Big 12
Posted at 10:12 PM, May 03, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-03 23:12:05-04

Baylor softball earned seven selections to the 64-member 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Softball teams, announced Thursday by the conference office.

Caitlin Charlton, Taylor Ellis, Maddison Kettler, Goose McGlaun, Madi O’Neal, and Kyla Walker were all selected as first team honorees, with Shelby Friudenberg selected as a second team member.

Baylor has placed at least six selections to the conference’s academic honors for 11-straight seasons and five or more for the 16th consecutive year.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

First Team

Caitlin Charlton


Biology, Ecology

Palmetto Bay, Fla.

Taylor Ellis


Health, Kinesiology & Leisure Studies

Waco, Texas

Maddison Kettler


Comm Sciences & Disorders, Speech Pathology

West, Texas

Goose McGlaun


Health, Kinesiology & Leisure Studies

Humble, Texas

Madi O’Neal


Entrepreneurship & Corporate Innovation

Huffman, Texas

Kyla Walker


Comm Sciences & Disorders, Speech Pathology

Franklin, Texas

Second Team

Shelby Friudenberg



Bruceville, Texas