Baylor A&T Garners Program-Record Six NCATA Season Honors

Baylor A&T Garners Program-Record Six NCATA Season Honors
Posted at 10:10 PM, Apr 28, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-28 23:10:03-04

Baylor acrobatics & tumbling set a program record with six National Collegiate Acrobatis & Tumbling Association (NCATA) season honors, the organization announced Saturday.

BU’s list of honors includes fourth-year head coach Felecia Mulkey as NCATA Coach of the Year, junior base/back base Ceara Gray as NCATA Most Outstanding Player, junior top/base Kaylee Adams as NCATA Specialist of the Year and Adams, Gray and senior base/back base Lauren Sturm as NCATA All-Americans.

Mulkey earned the coaching honor for the second time in her career (2011 at Oregon) and gave BU its first as she guided the Bears to their third undefeated regular season in the last four years.

Gray gave Baylor its second straight season with the MOP and third overall as she joins Kiara Nowlin (2017, 2015) on the list of Bears to earn the honor. Adams hauled in the specialist award in its first year of existence for the sport.

Both Adams and Gray were named All-Americans for the first time in their careers, while Sturm made it two straight years as Baylor tied the program record for most All-Americans in a season for the fourth straight year (2013, 2015, 2016, 2017).

Additionally, Baylor won six NCATA individual national titles. BU took the acro event seven-element heat NCATA individual national title with a 9.925 score from Ceara Gray, Faith Spivey, Lauren Sturm and Allie Steele. The Bears won the toss open heat with a 9.875 score by Allie Alaman, Toni Bronisevsky, Morgan Celum, Briana Harris and Meredith Aldis, marking the programs first title in the toss event. Kaylee Adams and Lauren Sturm scored a 9.80 on the tumbling duo pass to take the title. Mary Berdis, Ashley Echelberger and Shayla Moore put up a season-high-tying 9.55 on the tumbling trio pass to earn the title. BU won the tumbling quad pass with a 9.30 by Toni Bronisevsky, Briana Harris, Bailey Hollier and Elise Manning. Bailey Hollier won the tumbling aerial pass with a 9.95.