Aggie women's tennis nets two on All-SEC team

Aggie women's tennis nets two on All-SEC team
Posted at 3:51 PM, Apr 25, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-25 16:51:33-04

Texas A&M seniors Domenica Gonzalez and Macarena Olivares were both named to the All-SEC Second Team for women’s tennis, the Southeastern Conference announced today.

Gonzalez has played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles in all of the Aggies’ dual matches this year. The Ecuador native, who has been as high as No. 87 in the nation in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s (ITA) spring rankings, began dual match play by winning her first 11 decisions. She is currently 15-5 in dual matches only, as well as 17-6 overall.

In doubles, Gonzalez and partner Eva Paalma have been ranked as high as No. 52 this spring. The pair leads A&M in doubles victories with a 20-11 overall mark, including a team-best 11-8 ledger in dual matches, as well as a 7-4 record in SEC matches only.

Olivares, from Santiago, Chile, leads A&M in singles wins at 27-10 overall, 17-5 in dual matches and 7-4 in SEC matches only, all at the No. 2 line. She also leads the Aggies with five ranked wins, including the highest ranked win of her career, a 6-4, 6-4 victory over No. 47 Jaeda Daniel of Auburn on April 13. Olivares, who was named SEC Player of the Week on April 4, has won seven of her last nine decisions—including four wins against ranked opponents—and this week she is listed a career-high No. 74 in the ITA national singles rankings.

Texas A&M, which went 5-8 and tied LSU for ninth place in the SEC standings, is 16-10 after advancing to the quarterfinals of the SEC Women’s Tennis Tournament. The Aggies, who were eliminated by SEC regular-season and eventual SEC tournament-champion Vanderbilt, currently the No. 1 team in the nation, now await the NCAA Championship Selection Show, which will reveal the 64-team field on May 1 at 4 p.m. on Texas A&M is expecting to make a 19th consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

A complete list of the 2018 SEC awards is below. Ties were not broken, leading to a 16-member All-SEC First Team and a 19-member All-SEC Second Team.

First Team All-SEC                                                           

Andie Daniell, Alabama

Giulia Pairone, Arkansas

Jaeda Daniel, Auburn

Anna Danilina, Florida

McCartney Kessler, Florida

Josie Kuhlman, Florida

Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Mami Adachi, Kentucky

Eden Richardson, LSU

Alexa Bortles, Ole Miss

Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss

Hadley Berg, South Carolina

Ingrid Martins, South Carolina

Fernanda Contreras, Vanderbilt

Christina Rosca, Vanderbilt

Astra Sharma, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Ana Oparenovic, Arkansas

Alizee Michaud, Auburn

Elena Christofi, Georgia

Morgan Coppoc, Georgia

Marta Gonzalez, Georgia

Mariana Gould, Georgia

Kennedy Shaffer, Georgia

Emily Fanning, Kentucky

Ryann Foster, LSU

Tea Jandric, Ole Miss

Anna Vrbenska, Ole Miss

Madison Harrison, Mississippi State

Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss

Anastasia Rentouli, Mississippi State

Mia Horvit, South Carolina

Domenica Gonzalez, Texas A&M

Macarena Olivares, Texas A&M

Summer Dvorak, Vanderbilt

Amanda Meyer, Vanderbilt


Jaeda Daniel, Auburn

McCartney Kessler, Florida

Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Eden Richardson, LSU

Sabina Machalova, Ole Miss

Amanda Meyer, Vanderbilt

Player of the Year

Arianne Hartono, Ole Miss

Freshmen of the Year

Katarina Jokic, Georgia

Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Josie Kuhlman, Florida

Coach of the Year

Geoff Macdonald, Vanderbilt