University of Mary Hardin-Baylor head football coach to be inducted into Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Posted at 10:53 AM, Nov 15, 2017
and last updated 2017-11-15 21:29:48-05

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor head football coach Pete Fredenburg will be inducted into Texas Sports Hall of Fame as part of the hall's 2018 class. 

Fredenburg has been the university's head coach since the program started in 1998. He lead the team to one NCAA Division III National Championship, a National Runner-Up finish and four NCAA Division III National Semifinal appearances. 

The Cru football team has won 15 American Southwest Conference championships and will be making its 16th post-season appearance this year under Fredenburg's leadership. 

Fredenburg previously spent 14 years as an assistant coach at Baylor University and was an assistant coach and Louisiana State University and Louisiana Tech University before moving to UMHB. 

“It is just overwhelming for me to receive this recognition and is such an amazing honor,” Fredenburg said. “They put my name on it, but it is truly a credit to so many people who have worked so hard and been such a big part of our success. That includes our players, coaches and all of our support staff who give so much of their time and effort. We have had incredible support from our University and I am so appreciative of the opportunity to coach here. So many people believed in me and this program when it was just a vision and this honor just absolutely blows me away.”

Fredenburg will be officially inducted on April 7 during a ceremony at the Waco Convention Center. 

The other members of the TSHOF Induction Class of 2018 include: former Texas A&I and Chicago Bear standout, the late Johnny Bailey, former University of Texas basketball and volleyball player Nell Fortner, Texas A&M quarterback and longtime NFL player and coach Gary Kubiak, Duncanville High School girls basketball coach Cathy Self-Morgan, former Texas Tech men’s basketball coach and Athletics Director Gerald Myers, former Texas Ranger infielder Michael Young, former UT and NFL quarterback Vince Young and Olympic Medalist and for University of Texas swimmer Jill Sterkel.

Copyright 2017 KXXV. All rights reserved.