Baylor WBB player on preseason watch list

Posted at 8:25 PM, Nov 09, 2017
and last updated 2017-11-09 21:25:12-05

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced on Thursday that Baylor women’s basketball sophomore Lauren Cox is one of 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award. In its inaugural year, the award is named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year and honors the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I basketball.

The Big 12 Sixth Man Award recipient a year ago averaged 7.6 points, 4.1 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game, appearing in all 37 game with one start as a freshman. She has built a reputation as an inside and outside scoring threat, and a dominant shot blocker.

Cox, a native of Flower Mound, Texas, was unanimously named to the 2017 All-Freshman Team after securing four Big 12 Freshman of the Week honors. In the preseason, she was recognized by league coaches as an All-Big 12 honorable mention selection.

“Katrina McClain was the ultimate power forward, bringing extraordinary effort and a double-double nearly every time she set foot on the court,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina made her mark on the game through heart and determination. The power forwards on this watch list display many of the characteristics that made Katrina such an outstanding player.”

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.

“It is a great honor to be a part of the new women’s positional awards,” said Katrina McClain-Pittman, a 2012 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “The Basketball Hall of Fame honors both the men’s and women’s game at all levels and I’m proud to see the introduction of these awards recognizing the hard work of these deserving young women.”

For more information on the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, visit