Baylor’s Lecomte Named to Cousy Award Watch List

Posted at 7:27 PM, Oct 16, 2017
and last updated 2017-10-16 20:27:23-04

Baylor senior guard Manu Lecomte is one of the 20 watch list candidates for the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced Monday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Cousy Award, now in its 15th year, recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the 20-candidate watch list.

Lecomte is entering his second year at Baylor. He played the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons at Miami, then sat out the 2015-16 after transferring to Baylor. Lecomte was named 2017 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after averaging 12.2 points and 3.8 assists in 30.1 minutes per game during his debut season in Waco.

Lecomte helped the Bears to the program’s first No. 1 national ranking and a fourth Sweet 16 berth in the last eight years. He shot .408 from 3-point range and led the team with 71 made 3-point field goals and 126 assists.

He was named to the All-Big 12 Third Team and honored as a USBWA All-District VII selection. Lecomte also picked up four weekly Big 12 awards, including Big 12 Player of the Week on Dec. 5 and Big 12 Newcomer of the Week on Nov. 14, Jan. 3 and Feb. 13. Lecomte and fellow senior Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. were named 2018 Preseason All-Big 12 honorable mention last week.

Four Big 12 Conference players are on the initial watch list. Lecomte is joined by Kansas’ Devonte’ Graham, Oklahoma’s Trae Young and West Virginia’s Jevon Carter

Alabama’s Collin Sexton, Connecticut’s Jalen Adams, Duke’s Trevon Duval, Iowa’s Jordan Bohannon, Louisville’s Quentin Snider, Minnesota’s Nate Mason, North Carolina’s Joel Berry II, Northwestern’s Bryant McIntosh, Notre Dame’s Matt Farrell, Providence’s Kyron Cartwright, SMU’s Shake Milton, St. Bonaventure’s Jaylen Adams, USC’s Jordan McLaughlin, Villanova’s Jalen Brunson, Wake Forest’s Bryant Crawford and Wichita State’s Landry Shamet are also on the watch list.

Players can be added or removed from the list throughout the season. The list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-February. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, April 6.

Lecomte’s former Baylor teammate Johnathan Motley attended the 2017 ESPN College Basketball Awards Show where he was presented with the Karl Malone Award as the nation’s top power forward. Motley was the first major award winner in program history.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).