K.J. Smith honored as member of Nagurski list

Posted at 6:13 PM, Jul 13, 2017
and last updated 2017-07-13 19:13:53-04

Baylor senior defensive end K.J. Smith was selected to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List on Thursday as announced by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Smith was named a 2017 Preseason All-Big 12 selection on Wednesday. His week began Monday when he was announced as a member of the Bednarik Award Watch List.

He was a 2016 All-Big 12 first team selection by the league's coaches following his junior season. Smith tallied 11.0 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks while starting all 13 games for the Bears. His seven sacks in 2016 tied for the fifth-most in Baylor program history.

A native of Frisco, Texas, Smith has recorded 12.0 sacks in his career with 26.0 tackles for loss and 135 total tackles in 39 games (24 starts). He ranks ninth in Baylor history with 12.0 career sacks.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.