Baylor Baseball Lands Three Players on Midseason Awards Watch Lists

Posted at 5:59 PM, Apr 19, 2017
and last updated 2017-04-19 18:59:36-04

Baylor baseball had three players named to the College Baseball Foundations midseason awards watch lists. Junior RHP Troy Montemayor was named to the Pitcher of the Year Award list, JUCO junior shortstop Tucker Cascadden was named to the Brooks Wallace Award list and freshman LHP/outfielder Hunter Seay was named to the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award list.

Montemayor is one of 10 in the Big 12 on the pitcher’s list and one of 64 in the country. He is 3-1 on the season with a career-high three wins to go along with eight saves (ranks 20th in NCAA and third in Big 12) in 15 appearances (13 scoreless). Over 14.2 innings, he’s allowed three runs (two earned) on 12 hits and three walks with 19 strikeouts with a .203 opponent batting average against for a 1.23 ERA. He is also on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Preseason Watch List and was a Collegiate Baseball Preseason All-American second team choice.

Cascadden is one of six in the Big 12 on the Brooks Wallace list and one of 75 in the country. In 37 games, he has hit .270 with 15 runs, 30 hits, a team-high nine doubles, one home run, 23 RBI, 11 walks and one steal.

Seay is one of two from the Big 12 on the two-way list and one of 25 in the country. As a batter, he is hitting .286 with three runs and two walks. As a pitcher, he is 1-0 with a 0.00 ERA in six appearances as he’s given up just four hits and no walks with five strikeouts in 4.1 innings.

The Pitcher of the Year Award will be presented to the top pitcher of the 2017 season, as decided by the Foundation. The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, honors the nation’s top shortstop. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia at the age of 27. The John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007.