Baylor Men’s Basketball Trio Named AP All-Big 12

Posted at 6:39 PM, Mar 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-03-06 19:39:35-05

The Associated Press named three Baylor basketball players to its 2017 All-Big 12 teams on Monday. Johnathan Motley earned unanimous first-team recognition, while Manu Lecomte and Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. were honorable mention selections.

Motley is the first player in program history to earn unanimous All-Big 12 first team honors from the league’s coaches and media.

The Bears have now had 20 AP All-Big 12 honorees in the last eight seasons, with four first-team honorees, nine second-team selections and seven honorable mention recipients since 2010.

Combined with Ishmail Wainright’s honorable mention All-Big 12 recognition from the league’s coaches on Sunday, four different BU players have earned all-conference honors this season, matching the program record set in 2012 and 2016. BU has gone 10 straight seasons with at least three players earning All-Big 12 recognition

Ten players were named to the AP’s All-Big 12 first and second teams. Motley and Kansas’ Frank Mason were the only unanimous first-team honorees, and they were joined on the first team by OSU’s Jawun Evans, ISU’s Monte Morris and KU’s Josh Jackson. The second team was comprised of UT’s Jarrett Allen, ISU’s Deonte Burton, OSU’s Jeffrey Carroll, WVU’s Jevon Carter and KU’s Devonte’ Graham.

The AP named 10 more players All-Big 12 honorable mention. Lecomte and Lual-Acuil Jr. were joined by WVU’s Nathan Adrian, TCU’s Vladimir Brodziansky, TTU’s Keenan Evans, OSU’s Phil Forte, KSU’s Wesley Iwundu, KU’s Landen Lucas, ISU’s Naz Mitrou-Long and TTU’s Zach Smith.

Mason was named Player of the Year, Bill Self was voted Coach of the Year and Jackson earned Newcomer of the Year honors. Self received 12 votes, followed by OSU’s Brad Underwood with four votes and Baylor head coach Scott Drew with two votes.

A panel of 18 journalists who regularly cover the Big 12 cast ballots for the AP All-Big 12 teams. The voters were: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Eric Bailey, Tulsa World; Tommy Birch, Des Moines Register; Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News; Mark Cooper, Tulsa World; Brian Davis, Austin American-Statesman; Kevin Haskin, Topeka Capital-Journal; John Helsley, The Oklahoman; Justin Jackson, The Dominion Post; Tom Keegan, Lawrence Journal-World; Kevin Lyttle, Austin American-Statesman; Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register; Soren Petro, Sports Radio 810; Krista Pirtle, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Kellis Robinett, Wichita Eagle; Mitch Vingle, Charleston Gazette-Mail; and John Werner, Waco Tribune-Herald.

No. 3 seed Baylor takes on No. 6 Kansas State at 8 p.m. CT Thursday in the fourth quarterfinal game at the 2017 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship. The game will be televised on ESPNU and WatchESPN from Kansas City’s Sprint Center.


Manu Lecomte

Big 12 Newcomer of the Year (coaches)

All-Big 12 Third Team (coaches)

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (AP)

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team (coaches)

Jo Lual-Acuil Jr.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (AP)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team (coaches)

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team (coaches)

Johnathan Motley

All-America, Second Team (Sporting News)

All-America, Second Team (NBC Sports)

All-America, Third Team (USA Today)

All-Big 12 First Team; unanimous (coaches)

All-Big 12 First Team; unanimous (AP)

Naismith Trophy Semifinalist (1 of 10)

Wooden Award National Ballot (1 of 15)

Ishmail Wainright

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (coaches)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team (coaches)


1997 – Doug Brandt – Honorable Mention (coaches)

1997 – Patrick Hunter – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

1997 – Brian Skinner – Second Team (coaches, media)

1998 – Patrick Hunter – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

1998 – Brian Skinner – Second Team (coaches, media)

1999 – Kish Lewis – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2000 – Terry Black – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2000 – Tevis Stukes – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2001 – Terry Black – First Team (coaches, media)

2001 – DeMarcus Minor – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2002 – Lawrence Roberts – Third Team (media)

2003 – John Lucas III – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2003 – Lawrence Roberts – Third Team (coaches, media)

2004 – Harvey Thomas – Third Team (media); Honorable Mention (coaches)

2004 – Terrance Thomas – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2005 – Aaron Bruce – Third Team (media); Honorable Mention (coaches)

2006 – Aaron Bruce – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2007 – Aaron Bruce – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2007 – Curtis Jerrells – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2008 – Henry Dugat – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2008 – Curtis Jerrells – First Team (coaches, media)

2008 – Kevin Rogers – Third Team (media); Honorable Mention (coaches)

2009 – LaceDarius Dunn – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2009 – Curtis Jerrells – Third Team (coaches, media)

2009 – Kevin Rogers – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2010 – Tweety Carter – Second Team (media); Third Team (coaches)

2010 – LaceDarius Dunn – Second Team (coaches)

2010 – Ekpe Udoh – Second Team (coaches, media)

2011 – Quincy Acy – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2011 – LaceDarius Dunn – First Team (coaches, media)

2011 – Perry Jones III – Second Team (coaches); Honorable Mention (media)

2012 – Quincy Acy – Second Team (coaches)

2012 – Pierre Jackson – Second Team (coaches, media)

2012 – Perry Jones III – Second Team (media); Third (coaches)

2012 – Quincy Miller – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2013 – Isaiah Austin – Second Team (media); Third Team (coaches)

2013 – Pierre Jackson – First Team (media); Second Team (coaches)

2013 – Cory Jefferson – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2014 – Isaiah Austin – Honorable Mention (coaches)

2014 – Kenny Chery – Honorable Mention (media)

2014 – Cory Jefferson – Second Team (media); Third Team (coaches)

2015 – Kenny Chery – Second Team (coaches); Honorable Mention (media)

2015 – Rico Gathers – First Team (coaches, media)

2015 – Taurean Prince – Second Team (coaches, media)

2016 – Rico Gathers – Second Team (media); Third Team (coaches)

2016 – Lester Medford – Honorable Mention (coaches, media)

2016 – Johnathan Motley – Third Team (coaches)

2016 – Taurean Prince – First Team (coaches); Second Team (media)

2017 – Manu Lecomte – Third Team (coaches); Honorable Mention (media)

2017 – Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. – Honorable Mention (media)

2017 – Johnathan Motley – First Team (*coaches, *media)

2017 – Ishmail Wainright – Honorable Mention (coaches)

* - unanimous