Four Baylor MBB Players Honored By Big 12 Coaches

Posted: 10:44 PM, Mar 05, 2017
Updated: 2017-03-06 04:44:55Z
Four Baylor MBB Players Honored By Big 12 Coaches

Four Baylor basketball players were recognized with Big 12 yearly honors, as voted on by the league’s coaches and announced by the conference office Sunday.

Johnathan Motley was named Baylor’s first-ever unanimous All-Big 12 first team honoree. Manu Lecomte was tabbed Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and recognized on the All-Big 12 third team and All-Newcomer team. Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. was included on both the All-Defensive and All-Newcomer teams, and Ishmail Wainright earned All-Big 12 honorable mention and All-Defensive team recognition.

This marks the 10th straight season at least three Baylor players have been named to All-Big 12 teams. It’s the first time Baylor has placed multiple players on the All-Defensive team and the first time two bears have been on the All-Newcomer team.

Motley joined Terry Black (2001), Curtis Jerrells (2008), LaceDarius Dunn (2011), Rico Gathers (2015) and Taurean Prince (2016) as the Bears’ only All-Big 12 first team honorees in coaches’ voting. He also joined Jerrells and Dunn as the only Bears named to the Preseason All-Big 12 team and the All-Big 12 first team.

Lecomte is the second player in program history to earn Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, following Ekpe Udoh’s 2010 honor. Lecomte became the first player in program history to earn Big 12 Preseason Newcomer of the Year and Big 12 Newcomer of the Year.

Lual-Acuil and Wainright are the first Baylor teammates named to the Big 12 All-Defensive team. The Bears’ only previous All-Defensive team honorees were Udoh (2010), Quincy Acy (2012), Isaiah Austin (2014) and Gathers (2015).

Lecomte and Lual-Acuil combined to become the first BU teammates named to the Big 12 All-Newcomer team. BU’s previous players on the All-Newcomer team were Patrick Hunter (1997), Black (2000), Harvey Thomas (2004), Tim Bush (2005) and Udoh (2010).

The official All-Big 12 awards are chosen by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players. Baylor has now had at least one player named to one of the three coaches’ All-Big 12 teams in each of the last 10 seasons, racking up 21 total honors in that span. Prior to the last 10 years, BU had four players named to one of the three coaches’ All-Big 12 teams over the league’s first 11 years.

Motley, who was an All-Big 12 third team honoree in 2016, is the eighth player in program history to earn All-Big 12 recognition in consecutive seasons. He joined Brian Skinner (1997, 1998), Jerrells (2008, 2009), Dunn (2010, 2011), Perry Jones III (2011, 2012), Pierre Jackson (2012, 2013), Gathers (2015, 2016) and Prince (2015, 2016).

Joining Motley on the first team were Iowa State’s Monte Morris, Kansas’ Josh Jackson and Frank Mason III and Oklahoma State’s Jawun Evans. Second-team honorees were Iowa State’s Nazareth Mitrou-Long, Kansas’ Devonte’ Graham, Oklahoma State’s Jeffrey Carroll, TCU’s Vladimir Brodziansky and West Virginia’s Jevon Carter. Lecomte was joined on the third team by ISU’s Deonte Burton, Kansas State’s Wesley Iwundu, Texas’ Jarrett Allen, Texas Tech’s Keenan Evans and WVU’s Nathan Adrian.

Wainright was one of nine players to earn honorable mention recognition, joining ISU’s Matt Thomas, KU’s Landen Lucas, KSU’s D.J. Johnson, Oklahoma’s Kameron McGusty, OSU’s Phil Forte, TCU’s Jaylen Fisher and Kenrich Williams and TTU’s Zach Smith.

Lual-Acuil and Wainright were on the All-Defensive team with Brodziansky, Adrian and Carter. Lecomte and Lual-Acuil were on the All-Newcomer team with Jackson, McGusty, TCU’s Alex Robinson and Allen.

Mason was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Jackson was tabbed Freshman of the Year, Carter won Defensive Player of the Year, Tarik Phillip was recognized with the Sixth Man Award and Bill Self was tabbed Coach of the Year.

No. 3 seed Baylor takes on No. 6 Kansas State at 8 p.m. CT Thursday in the fourth quarterfinal game at the 2017 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship. The game will be televised on ESPNU and WatchESPN from Kansas City’s Sprint Center.


Manu Lecomte

Big 12 Newcomer of the Year (coaches)

All-Big 12, Third Team (coaches)

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team (coaches)

Jo Lual-Acuil Jr.

Big 12 All-Defensive Team (coaches)

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team (coaches)

Johnathan Motley

All-Big 12, First Team - unanimous (coaches)

Ishmail Wainright

All-Big 12, Honorable Mention (coaches)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team (coaches)