No. 23 Baylor Softball Hosts 16th Annual Getterman Classic

Posted at 8:49 PM, Feb 15, 2017
and last updated 2017-02-15 21:49:40-05

No. 24/23 Baylor softball will make its first home appearance in the 2017 season at Getterman Stadium, hosting the 16th-annual Getterman Classic this weekend, Feb. 16-19.

The tournament field features last season’s champion, North Texas, along with UTSA, Grand Canyon, and Lamar.

• The Getterman Classic will mark the 16th year of the annual tournament, hosted by Baylor University in Waco, Texas. 

• The tournament is named after Ted and Sue Getterman, lifelong supporters of the program and instrumental benefactors to starting the Baylor softball program and funding the world-class Getterman Stadium, also carrying their namesake. 

• Baylor has won the Getterman Classic 10 times, including two of the last three seasons, carrying a 66-11 all-time record in the tournament. 

• North Texas is making its third appearance in the tournament field (2004, 2016) and carries a 4-6 all-time record in the Getterman Classic. North Texas took the 2016 tournament title.

• UTSA is make its third appearance in the Getterman Classic field (2009, 2011).

• GCU and Lamar are both make debuts in the tournament field’s history.

• 2016 marks just the third time in the tournament's history that the field will feature five teams. 

• An all-tournament team consisting of 12 players will be selected and presented following the games on Sunday.