McGraw Chosen for 2016 GCAA Hall of Fame Class

Posted at 10:36 PM, Oct 06, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-06 23:36:00-04

Baylor men’s golf head coach Mike McGraw has been named to the 2016 Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame Class. The group will be officially inducted at the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet on Dec. 12 in Las Vegas, Nev.

McGraw is one of six members of the 2016 Hall of Fame class, joining Vince Clark, Tim Poe, Jay Seawell, Mike Small and Dick Spybey.

A three-time national champion, McGraw is in his third season leading Baylor and his 12th season as a Division I?head coach. He has 19 years of experience coaching at the Division I?level, including eight seasons as Oklahoma State men’s golf head coach, and he’s led teams to the NCAA?Championship in 17 of those 19 seasons. In addition to three national titles, more than half of McGraw’s 19 years have ended with top-five finishes at the NCAA?Championship, including 10 times in the top five and three times finishing as national runner-up.

In just his second season at Baylor, McGraw led the Bears to their first NCAA Championship berth since 2010, where the Bears finished in 27th place. Baylor advanced to the NCAA?Kohler (Wis.) Regional, extending one of the nation’s longest active streaks with a 19th consecutive NCAA?Tournament appearance. The Bears mounted a back-nine comeback in the final round of the regional, combining for 17 birdies to finish tied for fourth and earn one of five NCAA?Championship spots awarded at the regional.

BU?placed 27th at the NCAA?Championship, marking the fifth-best end-of-season finish in program history. The 2015-16 Baylor squad claimed tournament titles at the Oak Hills Invitational and the Border Olympics, finished second in The Maxwell Intercollegiate and went on to record nine top-five finishes in 13 tournaments.

McGraw led Oklahoma State to five Big 12 titles and was named Big 12 Coach of the Year five times in his eight seasons as men’s golf head coach. The Cowboys won 30 total tournaments and advanced to the NCAA Championships seven times, recording five top-five national finishes during his tenure. His players earned 30 individual medalist honors and he produced 21 PING All-Americans while he was men’s team head coach at OSU.

Regarded as one of the nation's top recruiters, McGraw has produced numerous PGA Tour players, including Rickie Fowler, Hunter Mahan, Charles Howell III, Morgan Hoffman and Casey Wittenberg.