Baylor’s Stewart Named Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week

Posted at 11:58 AM, Sep 12, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-12 12:58:30-04

Baylor football safety Orion Stewart was recognized as the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week, conference officials announced Monday.

Stewart, a senior, had eight tackles (five solo), two interceptions, including one returned for a touchdown to help Baylor defeat SMU, 40-13, Saturday in Waco.

The Waco, Texas, product set a new career-high with the two INTs and upped his career total to eight with a pair of return TDs.

Stewart’s first interception came in the second quarter with SMU looking to build on a 6-3 lead. He slid in front of SMU QB Ben Hicks’ pass into the end zone to end the scoring threat for the Mustangs.

In the third quarter, Stewart jumped an SMU out route on the sideline and returned it 33 yards for the touchdown to put BU in front 26-6.

He is the only player in the Big 12 with two interceptions on the season and ranks tied for fourth nationally with the 2 INTs.

Stewart's 33 interception return yards brought his career interception return yardage total to 207, moving him from seventh to fourth on Baylor's career interception return yardage list. He passed Adrian Robinson (177), Derrick Cash (189) and Thomas Everett (194).

In total, Baylor has had 16 defensive players recognized a combined 21 times since 2001. BU has had at least one defensive winner in 13 consecutive years. Stewart wins his first career Big 12 weekly accolade and is the program’s first Big 12 honoree of 2016.

The Bears will now travel to Houston for their first road action of the season as they face Rice at 7 p.m. Friday on ESPN.

For the latest news on the Baylor football team follow its official Twitter account: @BUFootball.

Sept. 12- Orion Stewart (Defense)

2001 - Samir Al-Amin, FS (Nov. 24) 
2004 - Willie Andrews, RS (Sept. 27) 
2005 - Colin Allred, LB (Nov. 21) 
2006 - Dwain Crawford, CB (Oct. 2) 
2007 - Jordan Lake, FS (Sept. 24) 
2008 - Joe Pawelek, LB (Nov. 17) 
2009 - Joe Pawelek, LB (Sept. 8) 
2010 - Byron Landor, S (Oct. 18)
2010 - Byron Landor, S (Nov. 1) 
2011 - Elliot Coffey, LB (Nov. 14)
2011 - Sam Holl, S (Dec. 5) 
2012 - Joe Williams, CB (Nov. 19)
2012 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Nov. 26)
2012 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Dec. 3)
2013 - Terrell Burt, S (Sept. 23)
2013 - Eddie Lackey, LB (Oct. 21)
2013 - K.J. Morton, CB (Dec. 9)
2014 - Shawn Oakman, DE (Nov. 24)
2015 - Shawn Oakman, DE (Oct. 26)
2015 - Andrew Billings, NT (Nov. 23)
2016 - Orion Stewart, S (Sept. 12)