Baylor’s Russell Makes Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watch List

Posted at 10:12 PM, Aug 05, 2016
and last updated 2016-08-05 23:12:00-04

BALTIMORE -- Baylor senior Seth Russell was named to the 2016 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award watch list, the award's foundation announced recently.

The honor is presented annually at the end of each season to the nation’s top college quarterback based on character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class.

Russell is one of six Big 12 QBs to be recognized among the 43 signal callers on the list. He was the starting quarterback for BU through the first seven games of 2015 before suffering a season-ending injury. Russell racked up 2,104 yards, 29 TDs and six picks on 119-200 passing and 402 yards and six TDs on 49 rushes. He was named honorable mention All-Big 12 by the league coaches and a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award. Russell ranked 15th nationally and fourth in the Big 12 with 29 passing TDs in just seven games. He broke the single-season school record with 10.06 total offense yards per play.

Russell has already been named to watch lists for the Maxwell Award, Wuerffel Trophy and Davey O’Brien Award this fall.

Bryce Petty was BU’s last Johnny Unitas watch list member, earning the distinction in 2014.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® will be presented at a ceremony on Dec. 9, 2016 in Baltimore, Maryland.