Baylor’s Cannon Chosen For Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Posted at 10:58 AM, Jul 13, 2016
and last updated 2016-07-13 23:26:03-04

TALLAHSASSEE, Fla. – For a second-straight season, Baylor receiver KD Cannon has secured a spot on the Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list, released by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation Wednesday. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Cannon was a starter at wide receiver in all 13 games for Baylor in 2015 and earned second-team All-Big 12 honors as a sophomore. He averaged 17.4 yards per reception, which ranked sixth in the Big 12, and 66.8 yards per game, which were eighth-best in the conference. Cannon was named All-Big 12 second team by the league coaches, ESPN, Phil Steele, San Antonio Express-News and Waco Tribune-Herald. He produced 868 yards and six TDs on 50 receptions for the season and added seven kick returns for 114 yards. He had at least one reception in all 13 games.

This season, the Biletnikoff Award watch list includes 53 players, while Cannon is one of five receivers from the Big 12 Conference to make the list. This is Cannon's second watch list of the preseason as he was named to the Maxwell Award list last week.

Last season, Cannon was joined on the preseason watch list by Corey Coleman, who went on to claim the 2015 award. In 2014, seniors Antwan Goodley and Levi Norwood were recognized on the preseason list, while Tevin Reese represented the Bears in 2013. Former Bear Terrance Williams was one of three finalists for the award in 2012, and Kendall Wright was a semifinalist in 2011, after starting out on the watch list.

Any player at any position who catches a pass is eligible for consideration for the Biletnikoff Award. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group 450 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 8, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 14, following the vote by members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on Nov. 22.

The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, who was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.