Baylor’s Lonardi Named to All-Big 12 Women’s Golf Team

Posted at 9:58 PM, May 04, 2016
and last updated 2016-05-04 22:58:08-04

WACO, Texas – Baylor women's golf senior Laura Lonardi was named to the 2016 All-Big 12 Women's Golf Team, the conference office announced Wednesday. Lonardi is the fifth different player to earn All-Big 12 recognition during head coach Jay Goble’s five seasons at Baylor.

The 2016 All-Big 12 Team is comprised of the top 10-ranked golfers according to the GolfStat rankings following the Big 12 Championship. The Player and Freshman of the Year awards are automatically selected as the highest-ranked individuals.

Lonardi, who is ranked No. 34 nationally and third on this year’s All-Big 12 Team, leads Baylor with a 72.56 stroke average over 27 rounds entering NCAA Regional competition. She's shot par or better in 12 of 27 rounds and has five top-10 finishes on the season.

Lonardi’s best finish this season came in October at the Alamo Invitational, where she carded a 1-under-par 215 final score to tie for second place. Her lowest score of the season came in March at the Hurricane Invitational where she carded a career-best single round score of 5-under-par 65 to give her a 54-hole total score of 6-under-par 207 to place third individually and record her sixth career top-five finish.

Lonardi earned the No. 1 individual seed at the NCAA Bryan (Texas) Regional, which runs Thursday through Saturday at Traditions Golf Club.

Follow the official twitter feed of Baylor women's golf, @BaylorWGolf, for updates throughout the season.

Gabby Barker, Texas Tech (No. 18)
Yupaporn Kawinpakorn, Kansas (No. 20)
Laura Lonardi, Baylor (No. 29)
Maddie McCrary, Oklahoma State (No. 30)
Linnea Johansson, Oklahoma State (No. 33)
Sophia Schubert, Texas (No. 50)
Chih-Min Chen, Oklahoma State (No. 52)
Kenzie Neisen, Oklahoma State (No. 58)
Chayani Wangmahapron, Iowa State (No. 74)
Celia Barquin Arozamen, Iowa State (No. 81)

Player of the Year: Gabby Barker, Texas Tech 
Freshman of the Year: Chih-Min Chen, Oklahoma State 
Coach of the Year: Courtney Jones, Oklahoma State

Ali Brewer, 1999

Ali Brewer, 2000

Melanie Hagewood, 2001

Melanie Hagewood, 2003

Josefin Svenningsson, 2004

Hannah Burke, 2007

Allison Martin, 2007

Hannah Burke, 2009

Hannah Burke, 2010

Chelsey Cothran, 2012

Hayley Davis, 2012

Hayley Davis, 2013

Lauren Taylor, 2013

Hayley Davis, 2015

Dylan Kim, 2015

Laura Lonardi, 2016