Dickerson, Akers among 6 Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame inductees

Posted at 10:49 PM, Apr 22, 2016
and last updated 2016-04-22 23:49:25-04

ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) - Former SMU tailback Eric Dickerson and former Texas coach Fred Akers have been inducted with four others into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2016 enshrined Friday also included former Notre Dame linebacker Bob Golic, USC offensive tackle Tony Boselli, Arkansas quarterback Fred Marshall and the late Dan Petty, former team selection chairman for the Cotton Bowl.

Dickerson, also in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, ran for 124 yards in SMU's win over Pittsburgh in the 1983 Cotton Bowl.

Golic played in two Cotton Bowls for Notre Dame, and had 17 tackles in a 38-10 win over Texas in 1978.

That 1978 game was the first of three Cotton Bowls that Texas played in under Akers. The Longhorns beat Alabama and Bear Bryant in 1982.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.