Baylor’s Drango Tabbed To Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

Posted at 4:30 PM, Jul 15, 2015
and last updated 2015-07-15 17:30:34-04

Baylor’s Drango Tabbed To Wuerffel Trophy Watch List
Senior All-American up for award recognizing off the field accomplishments.

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – Baylor senior Spencer Drango was named to the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy watch list, released by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla., Wednesday. The Wuerffel Trophy annually recognizes college football’s top community servant.

In the community, Drango has traveled to Brazil for a mission trip with Baylor student-athletes in May 2015. He is the president of BU’s chapter of Uplifting Athletes, which is an organization that raises research dollars for rare diseases. Drango has also led monthly Fellowship of Christian Athletes gatherings at a local middle school over the last two years and has participated in Baylor’s ‘Feed My Starving Children’ initiative in 2012 and 2014.

In the classroom, the Cedar Park, Texas, product has been a three-time Academic All-Big 12 honoree, while earning 2013 first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District honors. He is a two-time Baylor Dean’s List honoree and an eight-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll selection. Drango graduated in December 2014 with a degree in Finance and is currently working on his Master’s.

On the field, Drango is a returning All-American and a two-time first team All-Big 12 honoree. He is slated to be a fourth-year starter at left tackle and has a team-high 35 career starts entering 2014 season. A year ago, Drango started all 13 games at left tackle to earn consensus 2014 All-America and unanimous first-team All-Big 12 honors. He was named the Big 12 Co-Offensive Lineman of Year, after leading an offensive line that powered BU’s running game to 215.5 yards per game (second in Big 12) and ranked fourth in league with 1.85 average sacks allowed.

It is the third preseason honor for Drango, after also making the Outland and Rotary Lombardi lists as well.

The 2015 Wuerffel watch list includes 80 players, while Drango is one of 10 selections from the Big 12 Conference on the list.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information departments and will close on October 15. A current list of nominees can be found at

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and finalists will be announced on November 24. Formal announcement of the winner will be on Dec. 8 at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City.

The presentation of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 47th-annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 12, 2016 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Keep up with the Bears all season long by following @BUFootball on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat.