Baylor’s Davis and Kim named Golfweek All-Americans

Posted at 7:46 PM, Jun 12, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-12 20:46:37-04

WACO, Texas – Baylor women's golfers Hayley Davis and Dylan Kim were named Golfweek All-Americans on Friday. Davis was one of 10 players named first-team, while Kim was a third-team honoree.

Davis and Kim are the only All-Americans in Baylor women's golf history. Both were named second-team All-Americans by the Women's Golf Coaches Association on May 29, and Davis earned All-America recognition following her freshman and sophomore seasons in 2012 and 2013.

Kim, who enrolled at Baylor in January after graduating high school a semester early, was named 2015 Big 12 Freshman of the Year. The Plano, Texas, native joined Davis and three teammates in earning the program's first-ever Big 12 Championship and first-ever NCAA Regional title.

Davis, a Wimborne, England, native, finished her collegiate career as a three-time All-American. She played in all 13 tournaments during her senior season and 12 times anchored the Baylor lineup. She led the team with a 72.32 stroke average over 37 rounds and recorded six top-10 individual finishes, including tournament titles at the Betsy Rawls Longhorn Invitational, the UTSA Tri-Match and the NCAA San Antonio Regional.

Davis posted a 73.26 career stroke average over 140 rounds during her four-year career, shattering Baylor's career stroke average record. Her 72.32 stroke average in 2014-15 was also a school-record and gave her the top three single-season stroke averages in program history.

Kim finished second on the team with a 73.08 stroke average over 25 rounds played, including a team-best 12 rounds at par or better. She recorded four top-10 finishes, including a tie for fourth in her first collegiate tournament when she led the Bears to a title at the prestigious Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge.

Kim was at her best in the postseason, tying for fifth at the Big 12 Championship, taking third at the NCAA San Antonio Regional and placing fourth at the NCAA Championship. She also defeated the nation's top-ranked amateur player, Duke's Leona Maguire, in the NCAA Championship match play semifinals.

Kim qualified for the 2015 U.S. Open just a week after returning from the national championship match. She'll head to Lancaster (Penn.) Country Club for the tournament that will be held July 6-12, and Baylor assistant coach Mary Michael Maggio will serve as her caddie.

Big 12 Coach of the Year Jay Goble and assistant coach Maggio led Davis, Kim, Laura Lonardi, Giovana Maymon and Lauren Whyte to Baylor's best-ever NCAA Championship finish, as the Bears were the national runners-up following a playoff loss to Stanford in the title match.

Davis and Kim were the only Big 12 Conference players named to the Golfweek first, second or third teams. Texas' Bertine Strauss and Oklahoma State's Maddie McCrary were honorable mention selections.

Follow the official twitter feed of Baylor women's golf, @BaylorWGolf, for updates throughout the season. 


Hayley Davis, 2012

Hayley Davis, 2013

Hayley Davis, 2015

Dylan Kim, 2015



Leona Maguire, Duke

Madelene Sagstrom, LSU

Bronte Law, UCLA

Dana Finkelstein, UNLV

Gaby Lopez, Arkansas

Justine Dreher, South Carolina

Emma Talley, Alabama

Celine Boutier, Duke

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Hayley Davis, Baylor


Annie Park, USC

Lauren Kim, Stanford

Monica Vaughn, Arizona State

Erynne Lee, UCLA

Kyung Kim, USC

Maria Jose Navarro, Texas A&M

Ally McDonald, Mississippi State

Lindsey Weaver, Arizona

Maddie Szeryk, Texas A&M

Sierra Sims, Wake Forest


Allison Emrey, Wake Forest

Marissa Chow, Pepperdine

Noemi Jimenez, Arizona State

Esther Lee, Colorado

Jennifer Yang, Washington

Dylan Kim, Baylor

Mariah Stackhouse, Stanford

Charlotte Thomas, Washington

Meghan MacLaren, Florida International

Lauren Diaz-Yi, Virginia


Eimi Koga, Washington

Caroline Inglis, Oregon

Taylor Totland, Furman

Jenny Hahn, Vanderbilt

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Manon Gidali, Arizona

Ying Luo, Washington

Gabriella Then, USC

Bertine Strauss, Texas

Krystal Quihuis, Arizona

Paige Lee, UC Davis

Chieh Jessica Peng, Mississippi State

Karolina Vlckova, Florida

Anna Newell, Tennessee

Regina Plasencia, Arkansas

Lucia Polo, Tennessee

Elise Bradley, LSU

Maddie McCrary, Oklahoma State

Sophia Schubert, Auburn

Andrea Wong, UC Davis