Baylor’s Jones Named Golfweek All-American

Posted at 7:45 PM, Jun 12, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-12 20:45:52-04

WACO, Texas – Baylor's Kyle Jones was named a second-team All-American by Golfweek on Friday, becoming the 12th All-American in program history. Jones joined Ryan Baca as the only first or second-team All-Americans in program history.

A Snowflake, Ariz., native, Jones is currently participating on Team USA in the Palmer Cup, where he also joined Baca as the only players in program history to compete in the event. He also qualified for the 2015 U.S. Open on Monday by shooting 65-69 at Dallas' Northwood Club qualifying event.

With the honor from Golfweek, Jones became one of 12 Baylor men's golf All-Americans: Johnny Arreaga (1960), Jim Grant (1966), Tim Hobby (1989), Kory Bowman (1994), Aaron Pellegrom (2000), Jimmy Walker (2001), Jamie McLeary (2002), Adam Meyer (2002), Ryan Baca (2003, 2006), Jeremy Alcorn (2005) and Joakim Mikkelsen (2012). Baca earned first-team recognition in 2006, and the remaining All-Americans were all either third-team or honorable mention prior to Jones' second-team honor.

Jones finished among the top 15 individuals in all 12 tournaments this season, including nine top-10 finishes. He shot par or better in 26 of 36 rounds and posted the team's best score in 10 of 12 events. Jones also broke Baylor's single-season stroke average record at 70.47, and he joined Baca and Walker as the only three-time All-Big 12 honorees in program history.

Jones completed his 2014-15 senior season ranked No. 17 nationally in Golfweek's individual rankings, and he led the Bears to No. 16 in Golfstat's final team rankings.

2015 Golfweek All-Americans

First Team

Maverick McNealy, Stanford

Jon Rahm, Arizona State

Cheng Tsung Pan, Washington

Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt

Lee McCoy, Georgia

Thomas Detry, Illinois

Beau Hossler, Texas

Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech

Jack Maguire, Florida State

Bryson Dechambeau, SMU

Second Team

Robby Shelton, Alabama

Max Rottluff, Arizona State

Brian Campbell, Illinois

Clement Sordet, Texas Tech

Gavin Green, New Mexico

Hank Lebioda, Florida State

Kyle Jones, Baylor

Charlie Danielson, Illinois

Will Starke, South Carolina

Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt

Third Team

Jonathan Garrick, UCLA

Scottie Scheffler, Texas

Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Zach Seabolt, Winthrop

Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina

Xander Schauffele, San Diego State

Sean Crocker, USC

Brandon Pierce, LSU

Adrian Meronk, East Tennessee State

Rowin Caron, Florida State

Honorable Mention

Denny McCarthy, Virginia

Gavin Hall, Texas

Rico Hoey, USC

Scott Wolfes, Georgia South

Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State

Ben Griffin, North Carolina

Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech

Michael Gellerman, Oklahoma

Doug Ghim, Texas

Ben Schlottman, Auburn

Shotaro Ban, California

Corey Pereira, Washington

Scott Vincent, Virginia Tech

J.T. Poston, Western Carolina

Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville

Chase Koepka, South Florida

John Oda, UNLV

Rigel Fernandes, South Florida

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech

Baylor Men's Golf All-Americans

Johnny Arreaga – 1960 (HM)

Jim Grant – 1966 (HM)

Tim Hobby – 1989 (HM)

Kory Bowman – 1994 (3rd)

Aaron Pellegrom – 2000 (3rd)

Jimmy Walker – 2001 (3rd)

Jamie McLeary – 2002 (HM)

Adam Meyer – 2002 (HM)

Ryan Baca – 2003 (HM), 2006 (1st)

Jeremy Alcorn – 2005 (HM)

Joakim Mikkelsen – 2012 (3rd)

Kyle Jones – 2015 (2nd)