Baylor Baseball’s Logan Brown Named Academic All-American

Posted at 4:28 PM, Jun 04, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-04 17:28:06-04

AUSTIN – Baylor senior outfielder Logan Brown was named a second-team Capital One Academic All-American, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Thursday.

Brown garnered the honor for the first time in his career and extended Baylor's program-record streak to seven straight seasons with an Academic All-American. Aaron Miller (second team) began the streak in 2009 and has been followed by Chris Slater in 2010 (second team) and 2011 (first team) and Kolt Browder in 2012 (third team) and 2013 (second team) and Doug Ashby in 2014 (second team).

To be eligible for CoSIDA All-America recognition and extend the streak, Brown earned the Capital One Academic All-District VII First Team honor for the second time in his career on May 7th.

The Rowlett, Texas, native with a 3.77 GPA as an electrical engineering major is one of 33 players on the three-team list, one of 12 players on the second team and the only Big 12 player represented.

Brown received an honorable mention All-Big 12 nod for the first time in his career this season as he set career highs with a .288 batting average, 33 runs, 63 hits, 10 doubles, one triple, one homer, 20 RBI, 17 walks and 21 steals.  The program's first-ever Rawlings/ABCA Division I Gold Glove Team honoree is also a two-time Academic All-Big 12 first team recipient and five-time Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll member.

To be eligible for Academic All-America® consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director.


Pat Combs, 1st Team (1988)

Charley Carter, 1st Team (1998)

Jon Topolski, 2nd Team (1998)

Jason Jennings, 3rd Team (1998)

Jason Jennings, 1st Team (1999)

Jon Topolski, 2nd Team (1999)

Ross Bennett, 1st Team (2003)

Zach Dillon, 1st Team (2006)

Aaron Miller, 2nd Team (2009)

Chris Slater, 2nd Team (2010)

Chris Slater, 1st Team (2011)

Kolt Browder, 3rd Team (2012)

Kolt Browder, 2nd Team (2013)

Doug Ashby, 2nd Team (2014)

Logan Brown, 2nd Team (2015)