Baylor Baseball Garners Six All-Big 12 Honorees

Posted at 5:17 PM, May 19, 2015
and last updated 2015-05-19 18:17:40-04

TULSA, Okla. – Baylor had six players earn All-Big 12 honors, the league announced Tuesday.  Logan Brown, Daniel Castano, Drew Tolson, Adam Toth and Duncan Wendel were honorable mention All-Big 12 selections, while Kameron Esthay made the Big 12 All-Freshman Team.

The accolades gave the Bears multiple all-league selections in all 19 years as a league member. During the Big 12 era, BU has 118 all-league honorees under head coach Steve Smith.

Brown received the nod for the first time in his career as the senior outfielder has career highs with a .300 batting average, 31 runs, 61 hits, 10 doubles, 19 RBI, 16 walks and 20 steals.

After being an all-freshman selection last year, Castano is 4-6 on the mound with a career-low 3.30 ERA as he topped his freshman totals with 73.2 innings pitched and 44 strikeouts so far this season while notching his first career complete-game shutout and save.

Tolson receive the award for the first time as well.  The sophomore pitcher is 3-7 with a career-low 3.61 ERA and set career marks with his first two complete games, 82.1 innings pitched and 41 strikeouts.

Toth earned an end-of-year league award for the third time as he was a 2012 all-freshman choice and honorable mention selection last season.  Despite missing nearly half the season due to injury, the senior outfielder is hitting .287 with 10 runs, 27 hits, seven doubles, two triples, 16 RBI, 11 walks and five steals.

Wendel was also a first-time recipient.  The senior infielder is hitting a career-best .284 and has set career highs with 18 runs and 18 walks while posting 33 hits, four doubles and 13 RBI.

Esthay was one of 12 members chosen to the all-freshman team.  The outfielder is hitting .296 with 22 runs, 42 hits, seven doubles, one triple, four home runs, 22 RBI, nine walks and four steals.  He is just the sixth Baylor player to earn the all-freshman honor as he joins Michael Griffin (2002), Michael Howard (2012), Ryan Smith (2012), Toth (2012) and Castano (2014).

No. 8 seed Baylor will face No. 1 seed TCU at 12:30 p.m. CT Wednesday on FOX College Sports in the 2015 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship at ONEOK Field.