Eight Baylor Softball Players Earn Big 12 Postseason Honors

Posted at 3:17 PM, May 14, 2015
and last updated 2015-05-14 16:17:57-04

Eight Baylor Softball Players Earn Big 12 Postseason Honors

Stearns, Hawkins, Friudenberg Earn First-Team All-Big 12 honors

Link to full Big 12 Postseason honors:

WACO, Texas – The Baylor softball team saw eight players earn recognition from the league office Wednesday as the Big 12 Softball Postseason Awards were handed out. Baylor landed three players apiece on the first and second teams, one on the defensive team and a pair of the freshmen team.

Junior right handed pitcher Heather Stearns, sophomore second baseman Ari Hawkins, and freshman first baseman Shelby Friudenberg earned First Team All-Big 12 honors. Stearns posted a 10-5 record in league play with four shutouts, Hawkins led the Bears in hitting and didn't commit an error at second base, and Friudenberg led the Bears in the regular season with 16 home runs and 41 RBI.

Seniors Kaitlyn Thumann and Jordan Strickland along with junior designated player Linsey Hays earned Second Team All-Big 12 recognition. Thumann led Baylor with eight doubles and hit .375 vs. Big 12 opponents, Strickland was second on the team with 10 RBI vs. the league, and Hays hit .333 with nine RBI against the Big 12.

Friudenberg and Kendall Potts were named to the All-Big 12 Freshman team. Friudenberg set Baylor's single-season home run record by a freshman with her 13th home run of the year; that passed Brette Reagan's former mark of 12 set in 2006. Friudenberg carries 16 home runs into the NCAA playoffs, which begin Friday. Potts posted a 2-0 record against Big 12 opponents with a 2.33 ERA.

Baylor freshman centerfielder Jessie Scroggins was voted by league coaches as a member of the All-Big 12 defensive team. Scroggins had a pair of outfield assists on the season, but garnered recognition for her speed and range in the outfield.

Overall stats were not ignored as Big 12 head coaches voted for the postseason awards, but league stats were the emphasis.

Oklahoma's Shelby Pendley was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Paige Parker was the Pitcher of the Year from the Sooners, and Parker shared Freshman of the Year honors with Kansas' Danielle Chavez. Sooners head coach Patty Gasso won her fourth straight and eighth Big 12 Coach of Year honor.

Baylor takes on Mississippi State in Lafayette, La. Friday to kickoff the Lafayette Regional at 5:30 p.m. in a double elimination tournament featuring Mississippi State, Weber State and Louisiana-Lafayette to determine who will advance to the NCAA Super Regionals.

Follow Baylor softball all season long on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram by following the handles @baylorsoftball.