Baylor Track and Field Places 26 On Academic All-Big 12 Team

Posted at 4:14 PM, May 12, 2015
and last updated 2015-05-12 17:14:27-04

IRVING, Texas - The Baylor track and field team had 26 student-athletes earn a spot on the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 team, the league office announced Wednesday.

The Baylor women's team placed 17 members on to the first team, which was the second-largest contingent in the Big 12, while two others made the second team.

On the men's side for a second-straight year, Greg Bostick, a senior accounting major, was one of 15 athletes across the Big 12 to be nominated with a 4.0 GPA. In total, the BU men had six first-teamers and one second-team honoree.

The women's squad was highlighted by four-time first-team honoree Mariah Kelly, who is a senior majoring in Health Science Studies.

BU also had four athletes return for a third time to the first team, including Lauren Cook, Rachel Johnson, Tiffani McReynolds and Raena Rhone.

Meanwhile, Jenna Pfeiffer and Kaylyn Schultz were honored on the first team for a second-straight season. Jenna Henrich and Bree Schrader garnered the second first-team accolade of their careers, after also being recognized in 2013.

First-time honorees named to the women's first team included Ashley Fields, Carly Grandcolas, Abbie Greenwell, Sarah Guhl, Kehri Jones, Maggie Montoya, Jessica Purtell and Annie Rhodes.

Fields had previously been honored on the 2013 second team. Guhl is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first-team member in cross country. Jones was tabbed to the 2014 second-team a season ago.

On the second team, Dannielle Davis was recognized for a second-straight year, while Justise Dayries carded her first recognition.

On the men's side, Bostick was joined on the first team by Hunter Brook, Richard Hansen, Chase Hood, Chris McElroy and Jonathan Tijerina. Bostick and Tijerina garnered their third career accolade, while McElroy was recognized for the second consecutive year. Brook and Hansen both tallied the second honor of their careers as Brook was honored in 2012 and Hansen in 2013.

Nabbing second-team recognition was Matt Galvin for a second straight year.

Overall, the Big 12 Conference named 211 student-athletes to the 2015 Academic All-Big 12 Teams. A total of 130 individuals were recognized on the women's team (109 first team, 21 second team), while the men's team featured 81 student-athletes (59 first team, 22 second team).

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services, the track and field academic all-league squad consisted of168 first-team members combined with 43 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative over the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Baylor track and field team will compete this weekend at the 2015 Big 12 Outdoor Championships in Ames, Iowa, Friday through Sunday.