Scrivano, Burgic Win Big 12 Yearly Awards

Posted at 10:56 PM, May 06, 2015
and last updated 2015-05-06 23:56:19-04

Scrivano, Burgic Win Big 12 Yearly Awards
Bears lead Big 12 with three singles players recognized on All-Big 12 team.

IRVING, Texas -
Baylor women's tennis head coach Joey Scrivano has been named the Big 12 Coach of the Year for a sixth time, while Ema Burgic was named the Big 12 Player of the Year, the conference announced Wednesday.

“I am proud of our entire team, but for our veterans to get recognition as some of the best players in the conference is very rewarding,” head coach Joey Scrivano said. 

Along with Burgic, players Kiah Generette and Blair Shankle made the All-Big 12 singles team, while Burgic and Shankle teamed together to represent BU on the All-Big 12 doubles squad.

The Bears have now had three singles honorees in back-to-back years and in four of the last five years. There has been at least one BU doubles tandem recognized every year since 2004 – 12 consecutive seasons.

Scrivano garnered his third straight Big 12 Coach of the Year award and the sixth in his 13 seasons in Waco, after also winning it in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

“It is humbling to be recognized by your peers, but it takes a total team effort to have individual success,” Scrivano said. “First and foremost, the team deserves the credit. I am really proud of everyone who has had a hand in our success.”

This season, Scrivano's team is 25-6, including an 8-1 record in Big 12 action. Under Scrivano's guidance, the Lady Bears racked up two more Big 12 titles in 2015, winning both the regular season and postseason conference crowns. BU has a total of 19 Big 12 Championships and has won at least one title in 10 of the last 11 seasons.

With a team ranking of No. 9, Scrivano's squad earned an 11th-straight berth into the NCAA Championships and will host first and second round action for the ninth time in the last 10 years this weekend.

Burgic, a senior, is ranked No. 22 in the country in the latest ITA rankings and has a 16-5 singles record overall with a 14-4 mark in dual-match action. She is 5-4 against ranked foes. She was also named the Big 12 Player of the Year in 2013. Three different Baylor players have now won seven Big 12 Player of the Year awards (Zuzana Zemenova [2005-08], Lenka Broosova [2010] and Ema Burgic [2013, 2015]. Burgic tallied her third-consecutive All-Big 12 singles accolade and fourth-straight All-Big 12 doubles honor.

Generette secured her second-straight All-Big 12 singles honor as she compiled an 18-9 mark individually, while playing at in the top three spots of Baylor's lineup throughout the season. She is currently ranked No. 80 in the country.

Shankle, a sophomore, earned her first All-Big 12 singles nod, while boasting a team-best 26-6 overall record and a 20-2 mark in dual-match play. She is 8-5 versus ranked opponents and was 8-0 in Big 12 action. Shankle has won 11 straight decisions and is ranked No. 41 in the country.

In doubles, Burgic and Shankle are 11-4 overall and 8-4 in dual-match action. The pairing has not played together since March 22. Before teaming up with different partners, Burgic and Shankle beat doubles teams ranked No. 2 and No. 7 in the country. In the latest ITA rankings, the BU pairing was ranked No. 14.

The All-Big 12 tennis teams and awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes. A total of 12 singles players and six tandems are honored.

The Lady Bears will be back in action Saturday as they host Northwestern State in the opening round of the 2015 NCAA Championships. Baylor will face the Lady Demons at 2 p.m. with the winner advancing to take on the winner of the Rice-Tulsa match. The second round contest is scheduled for Sunday at 2 p.m.

Once the team competition has wrapped up, Burgic and Shankle will both take part in the NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships, starting May 20 at the Hurd Tennis Center.

To stay current on all things Baylor Women's Tennis, follow the team on Twitter and Instagram: @BaylorWTennis.

Category: Winner
Player of the Year:

Ema Burgic, Baylor
                                    Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State
Newcomer of the Year: Kelsey Laurente, Oklahoma State
Freshman of the Year:
Lily Miyazaki, Oklahoma
                                        Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech
Coach of the Year:
Joey Scrivano, Baylor

All-Big 12 Team

Ema Burgic, Baylor
Kiah Generette, Baylor
Blair Shankle. Baylor
Lily Miyazaki, Oklahoma
Katarina Adamovic, Oklahoma State
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State
Simona Parajova, TCU
Stefanie Tan, TCU
Breaunna Addison, Texas
Sarah Dvorak Texas Tech
Kenna Kilgo, Texas Tech
Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech


Burgic/Shankle, Baylor
Lushkova/Laurente, Oklahoma State
Adamovic/Babic, Oklahoma State
Tan/Arantekin, TCU
Addison/Wagland, Texas
Kilgo/Talaba, Texas Tech