Texas High School Hall of Fame inducts class of 2019

Posted at 11:37 PM, May 04, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-05 19:00:39-04

WACO, TX — The Texas High School Hall of Fame inducted the class of 2019 Saturday.

The class of nine inductees is full of greats including current Washington Redskins' running back Adrian Peterson of Palestine, former Houston Oilers' safety Ken Houston out of Lufkin Dunbar, Waco High's own Ken Casner and Daingerfield's Willie Everett. Casner and Everett both played for the Baylor Bears.

The late Casner was represented by his daughter at Saturday's ceremonies.

The inductees were honored at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, making even the most accomplished of the group smile ear to ear.

"It's known that some of the best athletes overall, not just in football, but you name it, come out of the great state of Texas. So, that's why this honor is so big for me. I put this up there with like my MVP award having this accomplishment," Adrian Peterson said.

A banquet was held at the Ferrell Center Saturday night to continue the celebration.

Class of 2019:
Ken Casner (Waco)
Ken Houston (Lufkin Dunbar)
Adrian Peterson (Palestine)
Willie Everett (Daingerfield)
Putt Choate (Coahoma)
Jason Bragg (Stephenville)
T.J. Mills -- Eddie Joseph Coaching Award
Scott Phillips -- Eddie Joseph Coaching Award
Jon Heidtke -- Dave Campbell Contributor to the Game