HometownBrazos County


Committee announced for Presidential search at Texas A&M

Texas A&M
Posted at 10:16 AM, Sep 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-01 12:51:10-05

COLLEGE STATION, TX — A 17-member committee has been created to conduct a national search to find a successor to Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young, Chancellor John Sharp announced Thursday.

Young notified the campus community on Wednesday that he would retire as president, effective May 31, 2021, to return to teaching and lead the new Institute for Religious Liberties and International Affairs within the Bush School of Government and Public Service.

“Selecting a university president for this great institution, particularly in these challenging times, is of paramount importance,” said Chancellor Sharp. “I want to thank this committee for volunteering their time to this critical task. We want a president with superb academic credentials who recognizes and will maintain the special culture and traditions that make Aggies unique in the world.”

The search advisory committee is charged with delivering a minimum of three candidates to Chancellor Sharp who will refer one of them to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents. The committee includes two Texas A&M System regents: Chairman Elaine Mendoza and Vice Chairman Tim Leach.

The other voting members are:

Susan BallabinaDeputy Vice ChancellorChief Operating Officer for the Vice Chancellor of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Kristina BallardStaff Council PresidentCommunications Specialist III, TAMU Engineering

Kathleen GibsonChair of TrusteesTexas A&M Foundation

Greg HartmanVice Chancellor for Strategic InitiativesSenior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Texas A&M Health

Yava Jones-HallAssociate Professor, Veterinary PathobiologyDirector of the Core Histology Laboratory

John JunkinsDistinguished Professor and Royce E. Wisenbaker Chair of Aerospace EngineeringRegents Professor; Director, Hagler Institute for Advanced Study

Jack LafieldBoard of Trustees12th Man Foundation

Arvind MahajanAssociate Dean, Mays Business School; Regents Professor; Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence;Piper Professor; Lamar Savings Professor of Finance

Cathy MannChair, Board of DirectorsAssociation of Former Students

Eric MendozaTAMU Student Body PresidentMays Business School

Roderic PettigrewChief Executive Officer of Engineering HealthExecutive Dean for Engineering Medicine

Joe RamirezBrigadier General, (Ret.)Commandant, Corps of Cadets

John StalloneProfessor, Vascular Physiology and PharmacologyFaculty Senate Speaker

Jorge VanegasDean, College of ArchitectureProfessor of Architecture

Karen WooleyDistinguished Professor, Chemistry; W.T. Doherty-Welch Foundation Chair; Professor of Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering; Director, Laboratory for Synthetic-Biologic Interactions

James Hallmark, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, will be the committee staff person and an ex-officio member.