SportsCTX College Sports


UMHB men sport five honorees on All-Division team

Posted: 9:50 PM, Feb 26, 2019
Updated: 2019-02-26 22:50:31-05

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor men’s basketball team placed four players on the American Southwest Conference All-Conference and All-West Division Teams on Tuesday (February 26th). The Cru had two All-Conference and First Team All-West selections, one Second Team pick and one Honorable Mention honoree. Byrale Carter was voted ASC West Division Newcomer of the Year and Ken DeWeese was named West Division Coach of the Year.

Brian Long and Sam Moore were both voted to the ASC All-Conference Team and also earned spots on the All-West Division First Team. Long, a senior forward from Killeen High School, averaged 17.4 points and 5.4 rebounds per game this season. He shot 62 percent from the field and added 38 assists and 15 steals. Moore, a sophomore guard from Nixon-Smiley High School, led UMHB in scoring and rebounding at 19.6 points and 6.8 boards per contest. He also hit a team-best 78 three-pointers, dished off 62 assists and recorded 35 steals.

Demarius Cress earned a spot on the All-West Division Second Team. Cress, a senior guard from Killeen High School, scored 15.2 points per game and shot 40 percent from three-point range. Cress led the Cru with 81 assists and added 26 steals. He finished his career as UMHB’s Division III era career leader in points scored.

Carter was voted West Division Newcomer of the Year, claimed a spot on the West Division All-Defensive Team and was also named Honorable Mention All-West Division. Carter, a junior guard from Shoemaker High School, transferred to UMHB from Northlake College. He averaged 10.4 points and 3.8 rebounds per game. Carter also recorded a team-high 45 steals and was second on the team with 66 assists on the year..

DeWeese was voted West Division Coach of the Year after leading UMHB to the West Division championship. The Cru finished 21-6 overall and went 11-5 in ASC West Division play. The UMHB men advanced to the ASC Championship Tournament for a league record 19th time before falling to Hardin-Simmons University in a Semifinal contest. This is the eighth ASC Coach of the Year honor for DeWeese in his tenure at UMHB.