SportsBaylor Bears


Lauren Cox, N'Dea Jones named McClain Award Finalist

Senior on top 10 list for WBCA’s top power forward award
Lauren Cox
Posted at 10:45 PM, Feb 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-14 00:18:46-05

WACO, Texas — For the third-straight season, Baylor senior power forward Lauren Cox was named a finalist for the WBCA’s Katrina McClain Award, honoring the nation’s top power forward.

Cox is among 10 players selected as finalists and five will be selected to the “final five” in March. Cox was a final five selection as a sophomore and junior.

Despite missing eight games due to a foot injury, Cox is having another all-around season for the No. 2-ranked Lady Bears, averaging 11.8 points, 8.1 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 2.5 blocks per game.

The Flower Mound, Texas native is 2nd all-time on the Baylor career list for blocks, 10th in rebounds and eighth in double-doubles. She’s been named a postseason All-American five times by various entities.

This season, she’s also been named Preseason Big 12 Player of the Year, Preseason All-America First Team (Lindy’s, Athlon, Street & Smith’s), was named to the Ann Meyers Drysdale Watch List (USBWA), to the Wooden Award Late Season Watch List, Naismith Defensive Player of the Year Midseason Team, a Senior CLASS Award finalist, and to the Naismith Trophy Midseason Team.

The winner of the 2020 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif., April 10, 2020 along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five.

Cox joins Te’a Cooper as Baylor players to be named finalists for the Starting Five Awards with Cooper earning a spot as a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award Monday.

2020 Katrina McClain Award Candidates*

Cate Reese
Lauren Cox
Sara Rhine
Kiah Gillespie
Florida State
Ayana Mitchell
Naz Hillmon
Ruthy Hebard
Bella Alarie
Joyner Holmes
N'dea Jones
Texas A&M

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season