SportsBaylor Bears


Big 12 Names Baylor Lady Bears' Cox Female Co-Sportsperson of the Year

Cox becomes fourth Baylor female to win the award
Posted at 9:30 PM, Jun 25, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-25 22:30:18-04

WACO, TX — Baylor University's Lauren Cox earned the 2018-19 Big 12 Female Sportsperson of the Year award, the league announced Tuesday. Cox, the junior from Flower Mound, Texas shares the award with the Kansas State women's rowing team while Iowa State's David Montgomery represented Iowa State football as the men's honoree.

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards began in 2000-01 to annually recognize student-athletes who displayed an extraordinary degree of sportsmanship, community service and academic achievement. This year's winners were selected by a media panel.

Cox will become the fourth Baylor female in the 19-year history of the award to win, and she will be the third women's basketball player to take the honors after Jessicka Stratton (2003-04) and Melissa Jones (2010-11) each won. Softball's Whitney Canion took home the honor for the 2013-14 season.

In addition to her outstanding play on the floor where she led the Lady Bears to a 2019 NCAA National Championship in Tampa, Fla. April 7 over Notre Dame, Cox was active in the local chapter of JDRF, which raises awareness for Type 1 Diabetes. Cox who was diagnosed with the disease as a youth has used her platform to inspire many young aspiring with the athletes to continue achieving their dreams. She also participated in the Waco Stomp Out Diabetes Walk.

Cox's academic work landed her a spot on the first team of the 2019 Academic All-Big 12 team, and she was recognized as the NCAA Elite 90 Co-Award winner in Tampa in April for having the top GPA among players participating in the NCAA Championship.