SportsBaylor Bears


Baylor’s Morris Named Texas co-Sportscaster of the Year

33rd-year Voice of the Bears honored by National Sports Media Association
Posted at 2:23 PM, Jan 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-01-13 15:23:01-05

WACO, Texas — Baylor Assistant AD for Broadcasting John Morris has been selected as 2019 Texas co-Sportscaster of the Year, as announced Monday by the National Sports Media Association.

Morris was selected for the first time in his 33-year career as “Voice of the Bears.” He becomes the first Texas Sportscaster of the Year from outside of the state’s four largest markets (DFW, Houston, San Antonio, Austin) and just the second sportscaster to win the award while serving a university. Morris is the 19th different sportscaster to be recognized in the awards’ 61-year history.

Morris was one of five finalists for the award along with Dale Hansen (WFAA-TV, Dallas), Eric Nadel (Rangers Radio Network), Brad Sham (Cowboys Radio Network) and Craig Way (Longhorn IMG Sports Network, Austin).

A Kentucky native, Morris was selected as co-Sportscaster of the Year with Hansen, who was tabbed for the fifth time. Way is the only other collegiate broadcaster to win the award (2016), while Sham is a 12-time winner and Nadel is an eight-time honoree.

The NSMA has awarded Texas Sportscaster of the Year annually since 1959. Finalists are nominated by NSMA members in each state, and the membership from each state votes on its annual Sportscaster of the Year.

Morris is in his 33rd year broadcasting Baylor Football and his 25th year as the signature voice of Baylor Athletics. He worked alongside Frank Fallon for eight years on Baylor football broadcasts, and his duties now include play-by-play for Baylor football and men’s basketball, in addition to daily Baylor and Big 12 programming and the daily “John Morris Show” on 1660 ESPN Radio in Waco.

Morris has broadcast 381 consecutive games over 33 seasons calling Baylor football. He also serves as the lead play-by-play voice for Baylor’s third-tier television broadcasts, first with Fox Sports Southwest and currently with Big 12 Now on ESPN+. He calls play-by-play on third-tier TV broadcasts of Baylor football, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, baseball, softball, tennis, soccer, volleyball, track & field, equestrian and acrobatics & tumbling.

Morris will be honored in Winston-Salem, N.C. during the 61st-annual awards weekend, June 27-29.