SportsBaylor Bears


Baylor's Lynch, Johnston named to Big 12 preseason team

Big 12 Announces Media Preseason Football Team
Posted at 3:07 PM, Jul 09, 2019
and last updated 2019-07-09 16:07:17-04

IRVING, TX — Senior linebacker Clay Johnston and junior defensive tackle James Lynch were named to the 2019 Preseason All-Big 12 Team by a vote of the league’s media, it was announced today by the Conference office.

Johnston, a fifth-year senior, is one of the top linebackers in the conference after earning 2018 All-Big 12 second team honors. He finished the 2018 campaign ranking fifth in the Big 12 with 99 total tackles and fifth with 8.25 tackles per game. In the month of November, the Abilene, Texas, native averaged 13.3 tackles per game, including a career-high 17 tackles in the Bears’ come-from-behind victory over Oklahoma State on Homecoming. Overall, the MIKE linebacker has 179 career tackles, the most on the team.

Lynch, a 2017 ESPN Freshman All-American, boasts career totals of 14.0 tackles-for-loss and 8.5 sacks, the most on the Bears’ roster. In 2018, Lynch was an All-Big 12 Second Team selection and an AP All-Big 12 First Team honoree as he led the team and ranked ninth in the conference with 5.5 sacks and 9.0 tackles-for-loss.

The Bears’ two selections on the Preseason All-Big 12 Defensive Team is second-most in the conference, tied with TCU and just behind Iowa State’s four selections. The preseason selection by the conference is the first-career honor for both Johnston and Lynch.

The Bears will open up the 2019 campaign on Aug. 31 at 6 p.m. CT as they host Stephen F. Austin at McLane Stadium.

The Big 12 media preseason poll will be released on Wednesday followed by the annual Big 12 Football Media Days to be conducted in Arlington, Texas on July 15-16. Both days will be televised live from 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. CT on FS2, FCS Central and other regional affiliates. Exclusive coverage from the event will also be available on the Big 12’s digital platforms –, Twitter and Instagram and You Tube (@Big12Conference). The official hashtag for the event will be #Big12FB.

2019 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Sam Ehlinger, Texas, QB, 6-3, 230, Jr., Austin, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma, LB, 6-2, 243, Jr., Missouri City, Texas

Newcomer of the Year: Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma, QB, 6-2, 219, Sr., Houston, Texas


Pos Name School Ht Wt Class Hometown

QB Sam Ehlinger3 Texas 6-3 230 Jr. Austin, Texas

RB Pooka Williams Jr.1 Kansas 5-10 170 So. New Orleans, La.

RB Kennedy Brooks3 Oklahoma 5-11 209 So. Mansfield, Texas

RB Chuba Hubbard Oklahoma State 6-1 207 So. Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

WR CeeDee Lamb3 Oklahoma 6-2 191 Jr. Richmond, Texas

WR Tylan Wallace 1 Oklahoma State 6-0 185 Jr. Fort Worth, Texas

WR Jalen Reagor2 TCU 5-11 195 Jr. Waxahachie, Texas

TE Grant Calcaterra 1 Oklahoma 6-4 233 Jr. Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.

OL Creed Humphrey3 Oklahoma 6-5 315 So. Shawnee, Okla.

OL Lucas Niang2 TCU 6-7 328 Sr. New Canaan, Conn.

OL Zach Shackelford2 Texas 6-4 305 Sr. Belton, Texas

OL Jack Anderson2 Texas Tech 6-5 320 Jr. Frisco, Texas

OL Colton McKivitz3 West Virginia 6-7 312 Sr. Jacobsburg, Ohio

PK Cameron Dicker2 Texas 6-1 201 So. Austin, Texas

KR/PR CeeDee Lamb Oklahoma 6-2 191 Jr. Richmond, Texas


DL James Lynch2 Baylor 6-4 290 Jr. Round Rock, Texas

DL JaQuan Bailey2 Iowa State 6-2 255 Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.

DL Ray Lima2 Iowa State 6-3 305 Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.

DL Reggie Walker K-State 6-2 250 Sr. Ponchatoula, La.

DL Corey Bethley3 TCU 6-2 290 Jr. Katy, Texas

LB Clay Johnston2 Baylor 6-1 232 Sr. Abilene, Texas

LB Marcel Spears Jr.3 Iowa State 6-1 218 Sr. Olathe, Kan.

LB Kenneth Murray2 Oklahoma 6-2 243 Jr. Missouri City, Texas

DB Greg Eisworth1 Iowa State 6-0 205 Jr. Grand Prairie, Texas

DB A.J. Green2 Oklahoma State 6-1 190 Sr. DeSoto, Texas

DB Jeff Gladney2 TCU 6-0 183 Sr. New Boston, Texas

DB Caden Sterns1 Texas 6-1 205 So. Cibolo, Texas

DB Adrian Frye1 Texas Tech 6-1 190 So. Houston, Texas

P Kyle Thompson2 Kansas 6-4 222 Jr. El Cajon, Calif.

1 2018 All-Big 12 First Team selection; 2 2018 All-Big 12 Second Team selection; 3 2018 All-Big 12 Honorable Mention