SportsBaylor Bears


Baylor men's tennis earns 6 seed in NCAA Tournament

Posted at 9:51 PM, Apr 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-29 22:51:38-04

WACO, TX — For the 13th time in the last 17 years, the sixth-ranked Baylor men's tennis team will host first and second round action of the NCAA Tennis Championship, the NCAA announced Tuesday afternoon.

Baylor, the event's overall No. 6 seed, will welcome No. 22 Michigan, No. 41 Dartmouth and Utah to Waco and the Hurd Tennis Center for play on Friday and Saturday, May 3-4.

“It’s amazing. This group has come together and really worked hard all year,” head coach Brian Boland said. “They’re very deserving. (As) the 6th overall seed, we certainly have our work cut out for us starting with Utah. They’re from the Pac-12, so we’re going to start Friday night and we’re certainly going to need to be ready to go.”

The Bears will be making their 22nd-consecutive NCAA Championship appearance and be hosting for the 14th time overall and the 13th time in the last 17 years.

The action in Waco gets underway on Friday, May 3, as second-seeded Michigan (17-8) and No. 3 seed Dartmouth (15-8) will play at 3 p.m., followed by the Bears taking on fourth-seeded Utah (17-11) in first round action at 6 p.m. The winners of those two matches will then play on Saturday, May 4 at 6 p.m. for a spot in the Round of 16.

BU is currently 22-5 on the season and ranked No. 6 in the latest Oracle/ITA team rankings.

Most recently, Baylor won its ninth Big 12 Championship tournament title with 4-1 wins over Oklahoma State and Texas two weeks ago in Lawrence, Kan. After going 2-0 in the conference championship, three Bears were named to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team with Matias Soto (No. 2 singles), Adrian Boitan (No. 3 singles) and Sven Lah (No. 5 singles) earning recognition.

Baylor is one of 16-host sites around the country for the opening rounds of the NCAA Tennis Championships. The higher seed in each Round of 16 matchup will host the third round with the winner advancing to the final site at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla.

Team competition in Orlando will be May 16-19, while the singles and doubles championship will take place May 20-25. Selections for those tournaments will be announced on Tuesday.

Baylor is 56-20 all-time in NCAA Championship play and 28-1 when hosting in Waco.