SportsBaylor Bears


Baylor men's golf earns 5-seed in NCAA Regional

Posted at 10:49 PM, May 01, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-01 23:49:55-04

WACO, TX — The No. 25-ranked Baylor men's golf team has been awarded the No. 5 seed at the Louisville Regional of the 2019 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships. Pairings for all six regional sites were revealed Wednesday during the NCAA Men’s Golf Selection Show on Golf Channel.

Baylor earned its 22nd consecutive NCAA Tournament bid, extending one of the nation's longest active streaks. The three-day, 54-hole tournament is hosted by Louisville and is scheduled for May 13-15 at University of Louisville Golf Club, which is one of six regional sites. U of L Golf Club is a par-71, 7,217-yard course in Simpsonville, Ky.

Additional regionals will be played in Pullman, Wash. (Palouse Ridge Golf Club), Stanford, Calif. (Stanford Golf Course), Myrtle Beach, S.C. (TPC Myrtle Beach), Athens, Ga. (University of Georgia Golf Course) and Austin, Texas (University of Texas Golf Club).

The 13-team Regional field is comprised of No. 1 seed Oklahoma State, No. 2 Auburn, No. 3 North Florida, No. 4 Louisville, No. 5 Baylor, No. 6 Arkansas State, No. 7 Iowa State, No. 8 West Virginia, No. 9 Arizona, No. 10 Mississippi State, No. 11 New Mexico, No. 12 Jacksonville State and No. 13 Southern Illinois.

The 81-team NCAA Tournament field will be narrowed to 30 teams advancing to the NCAA Championship, which is scheduled for May 24-29 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark. The top five teams and low individual on a non-advancing team at each of the six regional sites earn NCAA Championship berths.

BU has competed against six of its 12 Louisville Regional opponents during the 2018-19 season, and the Bears have earned head-to-head wins against four of those teams. BU has posted a combined 4-8 head-to-head record against fellow Louisville Regional participants – Oklahoma State (0-6), Auburn (0-1), Iowa State (1-1), West Virginia (1-0), Arizona (1-0) and New Mexico (1-0).

Baylor head coach Mike McGraw has led the Bears to NCAA Regionals in each of his five seasons guiding the program, and BU is riding a school-record streak of three consecutive seasons advancing the NCAA Championship. The Bears have played in eight NCAA Championships (1960, 1966, 1967, 2002, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2018).

Baylor is one of 12 programs to advance to the NCAA Championship in every year since 2016, joining Alabama, Arizona State, Auburn, Clemson, Illinois, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Stanford, Texas and Vanderbilt.

BU advanced to the NCAA Championship last season by taking third place in a 13-team field at the Bryan Regional. The Bears have finished among the top four teams in each of their last three Regionals, including a tie for fourth place at the 2016 NCAA Kohler (Wisc.) Regional, a tie for first place at the 2017 NCAA Stanford (Calif.) Regional and third place at the 2018 NCAA Bryan (Texas) Regional.