SportsBaylor Bears


AP names Baylor’s Brown, Cox All-Americans

Posted at 4:07 PM, Apr 01, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-01 17:07:13-04

NEW YORK, NY —  The Associated Press named Baylor's Kalani Brown and Lauren Cox All-Americans Monday afternoon after the post duo led the Lady Bears to a 34-1 record, a No. 1 national ranking and to their 10th regular season & Big 12 Championship tournament titles.

Brown's selection to the AP All-America team is the third of her career after collecting honorable mention honors as a sophomore in 2017, a second-team selection as a junior in 2018 and second-team again as a senior Monday.

Thru the NCAA Sweet 16, Brown averages 15.6 points, 8.1 rebounds, 1.7 blocks and shoots 61.1 percent from the floor. Brown will leave Baylor as the program's all-time leader in field goal percentage, she ranks fourth all-time in rebounds and blocks while ranking fifth in double-doubles, field goals made, free throws made and sixth all-time in career points.

Monday's selection was the 10th overall all-America selection for the Slidell, La. native, and the second this season along with a second-team nod from

Cox's selection was the third all-America award of her career and second by the AP. She was an honorable mention selection last year as a sophomore and was also a WBCA All-America honorable mention winner last year.

The AP named Cox to the third team after an all-around season that has included 12.7 points, 8.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists, 2.5 blocks and a 2.56:1 assists-to-turnover ratio, which leads the Big 12.

Cox was the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year for the second-straight season and passed her teammate, Brown, for third all-time on the BU career list for blocks late in the season.

Baylor's pair of All-Americans will square off against Iowa's Megan Gustafson Monday night in the NCAA Elite 8 in search for the program's fourth berth to the NCAA Final Four. Gustafson was a first-team selection by the AP along with UConn's Napheesa Collier, Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu, Louisville's Asia Durr and Mississippi State's Teaira McCowan.

Votes for the AP All-America team were selected by the Top 25 voters and considered games and statistics thru March 11.

Statistics through March 11
First Team
Napheesa Collier, UConn, 6-1, senior, O'Fallon, Mo., 20.9 ppg, 10.5 rpg, 3.5 apg, 61.4 fg pct (27 of 28 first-place votes, 138 points)
Megan Gustafson, Iowa, 6-3, senior, Port Wing, Wis., 28.0 ppg, 13.3 rpg, 69.6 fg pct, 1.8 blocks (26, 136)
Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon, 5-11, junior, Walnut Creek, Calif., 19.6 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 8.1 apg, 42.3 3-pt fg pct, (26, 136)
Asia Durr, Louisville, 5-10, senior, Douglasville, Ga., 21.3 ppg, 3.5 rpg, 3.2 apg, 1.6 steals (25, 134)
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State, 6-7, senior, Brenham, Texas, 17.8 ppg, 13.5 rpg, 65.5 fg pct, 2.4 blocks (20, 124)
Second Team
Arike Ogunbowale, Notre Dame, 5-8, senior, Milwaukee, 21.0 ppg, 4.9 rpg, 3.9 apg, 1.9 steals (4, 87)
Kalani Brown, Baylor, 6-7, senior, Slidell, La., 15.7 ppg, 8.0 rpg, 62.3 fg pct, 1.5 blocks (3, 81)
Kristine Anigwe, California, 6-4, senior, Phoenix, 22.9 ppg, 16.3 rpg, 51.9 fg pct, 1.8 blocks (5, 76)
Alanna Smith, Stanford, 6-3, senior, Melbourne, Australia, 19.6 ppg, 8.6 rpg, 2.4 blocks (0, 68)
Bridget Carleton, Iowa State, 6-1, senior, Chatham, Ontario, 21.4 ppg, 8.6 rpg, 4.1 apg, 84.8 ft pct (0, 60)
Third Team
Katie Lou Samuelson, UConn, 6-3, senior, Huntington Beach, Calif., 18.9 ppg, 6.7 rpg, 88.1 ft pct (0, 58)
Jessica Shepard, Notre Dame, 6-4, senior, Fremont, Neb., 16.5 ppg, 9.9 rpg, 60.8 fg pct (2, 29)
Lauren Cox, Baylor, 6-4, junior, Flower Mound, Texas, 12.6 ppg, 8.2 rpg, 50.5 fg pct, 2.5 blocks (1, 29)
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri, 6-1, senior, Columbia, Mo. 18.0 ppg, 6.1 rpg, 2.8 apg (0, 21)
Jackie Young, Notre Dame, 6-0, junior, Princeton, Ind., 14.8 ppg, 7.3 rpg, 5.3 apg, 55.4 fg pct (1, 15)
Honorable Mention (alphabetical order)
Bella Alarie, Princeton; Chastadie Barrs, Lamar; Kenisha Bell, Minnesota; Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M; Kaila Charles, Maryland; Crystal Dangerfield, UConn; Cierra Dillard, Buffalo; Reyna Frost, Central Michigan; Ae'rianna Harris, Purdue; Ruthy Hebard, Oregon; Natisha Hiedeman, Marquette; Jazzmun Holmes, Mississippi State; Anriel Howard, Mississippi State; Kiara Leslie, N.C. State; Tiana Mangakahia, Syracuse; Aari McDonald, Arizona; Beatrice Mompremier, Miami; Destiny Slocum, Oregon State.