SportsBaylor Bears


Robert Griffin III to be inducted into Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Posted at 1:24 PM, Feb 27, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-27 14:48:13-05

WACO, TX — Beloved former Baylor football player Robert Griffin III is being inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

He will be a part of the class of 2020. He will be inducted on March 28.

RGIII was the first player in Baylor history to win the Heisman trophy.

Griffin set 20 career records at Baylor and won the AP Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Awards. He was the 2nd overall pick in the 2012 NFL Draft for the Washington Redskins. He was named the NFL’s 2012 Rookie of the Year and currently plays quarterback for the Baltimore Ravens.

Griffin will be one of the seven inductees honored at the Texas Sports Hall of fame on Mar. 28. He will be joined by, Former Texas Ranger baseman Adrian Beltre, former Houston Texan punter Shane Lechler, Olympic medalist Michelle Carter, International soccer star Clint Dempsey, former New York Liberty point guard Teresa Weatherspoon and five-time US Olympian runner Francie Larrieu Smith.