NewsLocal News


Gov. Abbott declares State of Disaster for 6 Central Texas counties due to drought conditions

Posted at 2:58 PM, Feb 06, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-06 15:58:26-05

Governor Greg Abbott has declared a State of Disaster for six Central Texas counties due to drought conditions.

In a statement, the governor said the exceptional drought conditions posed a threat of imminent disaster for 22 Texas counties.

The six Central Texas counties on the list were Bell, Burleson, Burnet, Freestone, Navarro and Williamson County.

The declaration authorizes the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with the disaster.