State of disaster issued for 7 Texas counties due to drought

Posted at 4:39 PM, Aug 25, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-25 17:43:20-04

AUSTIN, TX — Governor Abbott issued a state of disaster for seven Texas counties on Friday, Aug. 23 due to severe drought conditions and increased chance of wildfires.

The counties included are Duval, Hall, Jim Hogg, Randall, Swisher, Webb, and Zapata.

Governor Greg Abbott

Governor Abbott has authorized the use of all of the state's available resources to address the situation.

"The state of Texas will do whatever is necessary to ensure local officials have the resources they need to respond to these drought conditions," said Governor Abbott.

This declaration supersedes any other law or regulation that would in any way prevent or delay necessary action in responding to this disaster. The declaration also suspends any law that would impede a state agency’s emergency response deemed necessary to protect life or property, according to a release.

"I urge all Texans living in these counties to take necessary precautions and follow the guidance of local officials," said Governor Abbott.