President Trump approves major disaster declaration for counties affected by Hurricane Laura

Hurricane Laura damage
Posted at 8:00 PM, Dec 09, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-09 21:00:30-05

President Donald Trump has approved a major disaster declaration for five Texas counties affected by Hurricane Laura.

Governor Greg Abbott sent a letter to the president in September requesting the declaration to help with recovery efforts.

According to the Governor's Office, the declaration includes "Public Assistance for Debris Removal (Category A), Emergency Protective Measures (Category B), and Permanent Work (Categories C-G) for Galveston, Jasper, Jefferson, Newton, and Orange Counties."

It also includes access to the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

“I thank President Trump for issuing a Major Disaster Declaration for five of the Texas counties that were affected by Hurricane Laura,” said Governor Abbott. “The President’s declaration opens up new recovery resources and crucial assistance that will help Texas communities rebuild from this storm."